Our coronavirus coverage is free for the first 24 hours. Find the latest information at Please consider subscribing or donating.

  1. Archive

Nominees are named by chamber

After soliciting requests for nominations for the board of directors of the Greater Brandon Chamber of Commerce, the following names have been submitted for election to serve three year terms: Chuck Bingham, Floral Decor Florist; Mitch Burley, Burley Construction; Robert Dykes, Dykes, Johnson Architects; Myra McCormick, Re/Max Realty Group; and Daniel Wright, Paragon Cable.

Each of the individuals was interviewed and expressed interest in serving the chamber and accepting the responsibilities of being a member of the board. The board unanimously voted to accept the slate as presented at its Sept. 28 meeting.

According to the bylaws, additional nominations may be made by bringing a petition, signed by 5 percent of active members, to the chamber office no later than 5 p.m. Oct. 12.

If no petition is filed by then, the nominations shall be closed and the candidates will replace the directors whose three-year terms expire Jan. 31.

Members of the nominating committee are chairman Linda Simmons, Simmons Construction Co.; Carla Rockwell, Sunbelt Publishing; John Gardner, Curry and Associates; Vince Ferraro, Oliver and Co., and Pam Morse, NationsBank.