1. Archive

Committee names nominees

The South Hillsborough column is published daily. Residents and organizations in the community are invited to drop off or mail their news to Terry Jones, Community Times, 1000 N Ashley Drive, Suite 700, Tampa, FL 33602, or fax it to 226-3381. Deadline for this news is seven working days before your event. All events must be open to the public.

Sandy Council, president of the Ruskin Chamber of Commerce board of directors, appointed Frances Hereford, Sonny Lazar and Dave Wiles as a nominating committee to recommend people to assume positions on the board starting Jan. 1.

Don Vaughn, Miriam Tyson and David Hurley were nominated by the committee.

Tyson is finishing an unexpired term and Hurley is being renominated after completing a three-year term.

Council reminds chamber members that nominations are also open to the membership, according the bylaws of the organization.

Current board members serving one-year teams include Joe Green, Glen Jackson, Claudia Tillett and Debbie Wilson. Hereford is the president-elect.

Don't forget the chamber's fourth annual Seafood Festival from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Oct. 10-11 at Bahia Beach.