1. Archive

Psychology professor named influential author

University of South Florida professor Paul E. Spector of Lutz has been chosen one of the 50 "Highest Impact Authors in Psychology" in the world.

Spector was selected from among more than 100,000 eligible psychologists at the recent 25th International Conference of Psychology in Brussels, Belgium. Spector is the only psychologist from a Florida university on the list.

Authors must have published at least 10 papers from 1986 to 1990 to be eligible. Of Spector's 12 articles in various journals, most dealt with organizational psychology.

Spector, who earned his bachelor of arts, master of arts and doctorate in psychology from USF, became a research assistant at USF in 1975 and a full professor in 1988.

"Impact is really the bottom line in the sciences," Spector said. "If no one ever cites your work, it's not (considered) of much value."

Spector is married and has one child.

19 students win scholarships

Nineteen students at the Erwin Technical Center recently received $100 scholarships from the school's Scholarship Fund.

The fund was established in December 1985 by Mrs. David G. Erwin in memory of her husband, for whom the school is named. The scholarships reward students for excellent academic performance. Criteria include a 3.0 or higher grade point average, a commendable attitude and attendance record as well as financial need.

The students who received $100 were Denise M. Botts, floral design; Melissa Clark, practical nursing; Karen Clayborough, interior design; Michael Davis, floral design; Lisa Ann Graffeo, court reporting; Alfred Hamilton, industrial electricity; Theresa Heston, practical nursing; Mary Kissinger, floral design; Nicholas Lazzara, architectural drafting; Chadi Maroun, auto mechanics; Leon Myers, welding; Debra Neal, word processing; Khoi-Nguyen V. Nguyen, industrial electricity; Eliseo Rivera, auto mechanics; Brian Robidoux, instrumentation technology; Carry Simons, practical nursing; Brenda J. Smith, floral design; Michelle Sykes, practical nursing; Henry K. Watson, computer electronics.

Two other students have received $100 Boyd Wilborn Scholarships, named for a teacher, dean, principal and director of Area Vocational-Technical Centers.

The two students had 4.0 grade point averages and high recommendations from instructors. They are Boyer M. Ali, data processing, and Kim Marin, court reporting.

The County column is published on Sundays and Wednesdays. Residents and organizations in unincorporated areas are invited to drop off or mail their news to Ron Brackett, Community Times, 1000 N Ashley Drive, Suite 700, Tampa, FL 33602, or fax it to 226-3381. Deadline for this news is seven working days before the event. All events must be open to the public.