Our coronavirus coverage is free for the first 24 hours. Find the latest information at Please consider subscribing or donating.

  1. Archive

Robles Elementary School

Two computers and a printer were donated to the school from the University of Tampa. Rita Pavan of the college's Moroccan staff facilitated the donation. The technology teacher at Robles, Barbara Kramer, says the equipment will be useful to many pupils.

Doretha Edgecomb, principal, and Lia Crawford, third-grade teacher, have worked extensively to develop business partnerships for Robles. Eastlake Theater, Hyde Park Theater, IBM, 56th Street Florist, Regal Bowling and Malibu Putt-Putt have donated incentive rewards to promote good behavior throughout the school.

Roland Park Sixth Grade Center

Pupils at Roland Park Sixth Grade Center brought in more than 11,000 telephone books during the recent recycling project by General Telephone Co. and the Department of Solid Waste. Leading the project were Mark Hughes with 1,500 books, Brandy Williams with 1,400 and Jennifer Barnett with 500. The books were taken to Jacksonville, where they will be made into wallboard.

Berkeley Preparatory School

The Berkeley Parents Club has launched its annual fall sale of holiday greenery from the Pacific Northwest. Available for delivery in early December are a 20-inch Alpine fir wreath, packaged with pine cones and ribbon at $15, and a 7-foot Western cedar garland for $12. Both items arrive individually packaged. The deadline for ordering is Nov. 1. Janet Hall is chairwoman of the sale. All proceeds benefit the school. To order, call 885-1673.

Plant High School

Freshman and sophomore students at Plant elected class officers for the school term. They are: Freshman, Eric Buchman, president; Clayton Bricklemeyer, vice president; Elizabeth Carmody, secretary; and Jordon Andrack, treasurer. Sophomore, Judy Surrency, president; Natalie Taylor, vice president; Natalie Flebotte, secretary; and Robert Wallis, treasurer.

Academy of the Holy Names

Kerry Donohue, a fifth-grader at the academy, was a silver award-winner in the 22nd International Children's Art Exhibition sponsored by the PenTel of America. This year's contest drew 4,806 submissions from the United States and more than 70,000 internationally. Other academy pupils receiving recognition were Jennifer Zaritsky, fifth grade; Sarah Monte, fourth grade; James Parrish, third grade; and Tommy Perez, second grade. They were awarded bronze medals.

Dale Mabry Elementary School

Walk-A-Thon 1992 is Dale Mabry's primary fund-raiser. Pupils will solicit pledges for walking and will donate their outgrown shoes. On the day of the event the shoes will be used to decorate the perimeter of the track adjacent to the school. After the event the shoes will be used for the school's clothes closet for needy children. The chairmen for the event are Candy Frankland and Carol Jones. The Walk-A-Thon is scheduled for Oct. 15.

Schwarzkopf Elementary

Pupils and teachers at the new Schwarzkopf Elementary School voted for their mascot and school colors using "real" voting booths. The use of the actual voting equipment was the idea of Dorothy Tellin, guidance counselor. Their choice was for bears for the mascot and garnet and silver for the school colors.

Both the faculty and parents felt the education of using the voting booths helped to make the occasion special. Sharon Shields, of voter registration, provided the equipment.

Chamberlain High School

The newly elected officers for Distributive Cooperative Education are Nicole Turinsky, president; Alex Burr, vice president; Natalie Spencer, secretary; George Gaffney, treasurer; and Erica Greene, photographer/historian. Aida Caleroni is the adviser. The Distributive Education Councils of America have two chapters at Chamberlain. Officers are Beth Hart, president; Gretchen Nastasi, vice president; Angela Simmons, secretary; Lori Boyer, Michelle Piniella and Amy Phelan, treasurers; Christa Phillips, historian; and Cayce Everett, photographer. Stephanie Rittenaur is the chapter adviser. Officers for the second chapter are Chris Emrich, president; Brett Hall, vice president; Liz Mathews, Allie Capri and Melissa Wyatt, secretaries/treasurers; and Stacey Moore, historian. Linda Gallo is the chapter adviser.

Adams Junior High

Students at Adams are participating in the 3-year-old program called Teachers Advisory Program, in which they are given the opportunity to talk to their teachers and learn how to deal with different issues such as school policies and problems with friends.

As part of TAP, a homeroom collection was organized and more than $900 was collected from students to give to the American Red Cross Hurricane Andrew Relief Fund. According to Ken Roberts, TAP coordinator, Adams was the first secondary school to respond to the emergency. The students also brought in cans and other dry goods to send to the hurricane victims. The program is held during extended homeroom hours several times a week.