1. Archive

Figure-8s running last time this year

This week's Pro Figure-8 main event at the Citrus County Speedway will mark the popular race's final appearance at the track this year.

Denny Meyer Sr. leads the way with 925 points and will appear with a new car, a 1968 Mustang, after an accident at the intersection totaled his previous car at Hialeah earlier this month.

"He flipped 12 times and destroyed the car," said Meyer's brother, Charlie, who stands seventh with 420 points. "He's OK, he's alive, just a little bruised."

Meyer's "A-team" teammates, Mark Nagy (620 points) and J.R. Meyer (565 points), stand second and third, followed by Paul Grynewicz (535) and John Heise (470).

The five Pro Figure-8 features have seen five different winners, with Nagy taking the last feature on Sept. 12.

Reshuffling: Track president Dan Jones canceled last week's races at 10 a.m. Saturday due to the heavy rain in Citrus County and the tornadoes that struck the Suncoast.

The 50-lap Late Model feature slated for last week was rescheduled for Nov. 14. By then, the points chase will be over, but the race will still pay $1,000 to win.

The rescheduling means there will be one less race to affect the points championship, which will be decided by Oct. 31.

"It's really better to do it this way," Jones said. "Everything was booked up; we really couldn't change the schedule."

Mini scramble: With four points races remaining, by far the tightest race is in the Mini Stock division, where any of four drivers could still win _ or finish fourth.

Defending champ Darrel Suchan of Inverness finished fourth two weeks ago, giving him a 66-point lead over Robbie Yoakam of New Port Richey, 2,090-2,024. Each has won seven features this season.

Closing in fast is "The Flying Accountant," Bob Eldredge, who spent the entire summer stuck on one victory but has run off three wins the last six weeks to bring his total to 1,998. He could vault into first with a win tonight as long as Suchan finishes out of the top three.

Inverness' Richie Powers, who has taken six features, stands fourth with 1,941 points and could leap into second with a win this week.

So complete has the domination been by the top four that four-time winner Danny Buchanan is the only other driver to win a Mini Stock feature all year. Buchanan would likely have made this a five-way tussle had he not sat out nearly two months after totaling his car in a July accident.

Coming up: Admission for tonight's program is $10 for adults, $8 for seniors and students, $2 for children 6-12 and free for children under 6. Gates open at 5:30 p.m., races start at 7:30 p.m.

Next week's card will feature the year's final appearance of the United Stockcar Alliance Modifieds in a 50-lap feature.

Point standings

Late Model: 1. Jeff Williams, Inverness, 7,886; 2. Bruce Gaskins, Inverness, 7,130; 3. Wayne Anderson, Wildwood, 6,380; 4. John Grubbs, Brooksville, 6,237; 5. Keven Fults, Hernando, 5,493.

Sportsman: 1. Herb Neumann Jr., Inverness, 4,178; 2. Dale Sanders, Homosassa, 3,931; 3. Alan Peckham, Lake Panasoffkee, 2,147; 4. Chuckie Sadler, Hernando, 1,990; 5. Fred Stoner, Inverness, 1,941.

Mini Stock: 1. Darrel Suchan, Inverness, 2,090; 2. Robbie Yoakam, New Port Richey, 2,024; 3. Bob Eldredge, Inverness, 1,998; 4. Richie Powers, Inverness, 1,941; 5. Wes Filyaw, Brooksville, 1,197.

Pure Stock: 1. Victor Stanley, Brooksville, 1,916; 2. Bruce VanHoozen, Brooksville, 1,653; 3. Steve ("Snidely Whiplash") Belden, Inverness, 1,428; 4. Dwayne Fults, Hernando, 1,233; 5. George Neumann, Inverness, 1,148.

Bomber: 1. Chris Allen, Minneola, 630; 2. Curtis Flanagan, Inverness, 595; 3. Albert Jarvis, Hernando, 590; 4. Al Barber, Inverness, 540; 5. Marty Dudek, Homosassa, 525.

Pure Stock Figure-8: 1. Johnny Sowell, Hernando, 680; 2. Victor Stanley, Brooksville, 620; 3. Robert Aaron, Brooksville, 570; T4. Larry Dennis, Brooksville, Dwayne Fults, Hernando, and Ron Thomas, Crystal River, 450.

Pro Figure-8: 1. Denny Meyer Sr., St. Petersburg, 925; 2. Mark Nagy, St. Petersburg, 620; 3. J.R. Meyer, St. Petersburg, 565; 4. Paul Grynewicz, Tampa, 535; 5. John Heise, St. Petersburg, 470.