1. Archive

Seminole captures PCAC title

Seminole High freestyler Scott Tucker broke two conference records and took home four first-place awards as the Warhawks' boys and girls teams swam away from their competition to win the Pinellas County Athletic Conference swim meet Friday. .

Countryside took second overall in the meet, and Clearwater placed third, the same order of finish for the boys' competition. Northeast and St. Petersburg rounded out the top three in the girls' competition.

The first record of the night to fall came in the 50 free. Tucker's time of 21.38 seconds shaved .31 hundredths off former teammate Rob Healy's old mark. Six events later, Tucker showed that he has the endurance to go with his outstanding sprint speed by winning the 500 free, the first time he had swam the event this season, in 4 minutes, 36.40 seconds. Osceola's Alex Voris previously held the record with a time of 4:39.83.

Tucker anchored Seminole's winning 200 free relay and swam the lead-off leg of the first-place 400 free relay.

In the final individual race of the meet, Seminole's Lloyd Hamilton broke his own conference record in the 100 breaststroke with a time of 1:00.18. Warhawk teammates Jason Healy (who won the 100 backstroke), Walt Haverstein, Scott Caron, and Brian Stiff each placed first in two relay events.

Other finalists included Chris Jones, 1-meter platform; Richie King, 200 free; Jason Eaddy, 200 IM; Dustin Bengston, 100 fly; and Bob Grossnickle, 100 free.

In the girls' meet, Seminole's Diana Fannon won the 100 free and anchored the 200 and 400 freestyle relays to pace Seminole to a 472-282.5 win over Northeast.

Teammate Erin Dunn placed first in two events, joining Fannon on both freestyle relays. Northeast's Evelyn Finklea won the 200 and 500 free individual events, and joined Katy Booth, Michelle Mixon, and Laura Vermillion to take the meet's first race, the 200 medley relay. Booth took first in the 100 breaststroke as well.

Other winners included Ryann Donohue, 1-meter platform; Christina Kennedy, 200 IM; Monica Williams, 50 free; Noelle Crane, 100 fly; and Lindsay Link, 100 backstroke.