1. Archive

Brandon Hospital nurses award $1,250 scholarship

Theresa Calcagno has been awarded a $1,250 scholarship by the nursing staff of Brandon Hospital as part of its National Nursing Week activities. The hospital's nursing staff raised scholarship funds through a seminar and other activities and the hospital's medical staff made a matching contribution.

Mrs. Calcagno, a licensed practical nurse, works on a medical/surgical floor at the hospital. She plans to use the scholarship to pursue a registered nursing degree. Mrs. Calcagno lives in Brandon with her husband Andy and three children, Cristina, Anna and Andrea.

Graduates also win awards

Mary Help of Christians School graduated 40 students at ceremonies May 28 in the school chapel. Academic awards were presented to Zachary Garrett, drafting; Christopher Golden, anatomy and physiology; John Pederson, graphic arts; Robert Fallon, history and woodworking; Adam Yore, science; Rodney Calhoun, chorus; John Thomas, physical education and John Peterson, math, religion, computer science and English. The Father Kevin O'Brien Award for outstanding service to the school went to John Peterson.

Underclassman awards were presented to Ryan Oakes, Ferdinand Charite, Samuel Gordon, Ryan Alvarez, William Foley, Anthony Clinton, Christopher Schelin, James Clifford and James Mobley. The winner of the $1,000 math scholarship was Christopher Schelin.

Lopez pupils make honor roll

Pupils on the Principal's Honor Roll (all A's) for the third grading period at Lopez Elementary School are Tiffany Cook, Danielle Eugenio, Kelly Lowe, Kristina Ruddnick, Jaclyn MacDonald, Michelle Mannor, Samantha Wood, Ashley Ankir, Jessica Haynes, Cara Mueller, Michael Tolodxi, Mark Waksman, Jeff Robbins, Autumn Hanley, Autumn Exum, Ben Hester, Jessica Weinstein, Joshua Garbee, Leigh Thompson, Ashley Corral, Tami Simpkins, Jonathan Cooper, Corey Swisher, Cheryl Pierson, Brandi Waring, Jennifer Bruwelheide, Kristin Baker, Samantha Scott, Mona Shah, Jaclyn Eugenio, Danielle Flory, Stacy Ball, Samantha McLaughlin, Pamela O'Steen, Gregory Garbee, Selena Ottinger, Christopher Rennick, Henry Reynolds, Krystle Booth, Amanda Brack and Raquel Nelson.

Residents and organizations in the community are invited to drop off or mail news for the Brandon column to Michelle Jones, Community Times, Oak Park Plaza, 723 W Lumsden Road, Brandon, FL 33511, or fax it to 226-3331. Deadline for this news is seven working days before the event. All events must be open to the public.