1. Archive

Gibsonton Methodists fete woman of the year

Margaret Mudry, 79, was honored as woman of the year for 1993 by the members of United Methodist Church of Gibsonton during ceremonies recently.

She has been a member of the church since 1961 and a resident of Gibsonton since 1957.

During her 32 years of membership she has served as financial secretary and board member and for eight years as president of the United Methodist Women. She also was part of the pastor-parish committee and is active in the SHARE food program.

She has one daughter, two grandchildren, one great-grandchild and three stepchildren.

Summerfield pupils recognized

Several pupils at Summerfield Elementary School in Riverview were recognized recently with Excellence in Education Awards for earning straight A's during the third grading period.

Recognized were fifth-graders Erica Ascherman, Michael Bingham, Katrina Brock, Jennifer Kerr and Brooks Patterson and fourth-graders Kevin Bannon, Danielle Glandon, Danielle Gnatowsky, Michael Thompson, Melissa Tucker and Marlene Porter.

Third-graders recognized were John Carr, Amanda Coleman, Zeeshan Hafeez, Bryan Vance, Kevin Keller, Brittany Livingston, Melissa Meredith, Edward Schwarz, Mark Beyer and Cesar Villalta. From the second grade were Valarie Allmon, Ryan Bannon, Megan Cross, Sara Gorman, Sevi Ball, Adam Engelhardt, Sydney Grogan, John Hanshew, Ryan Bannon, Kim-Oanh Pham, Cory Supple, Joseph Vance, Jaclyn Waluzak, Jamie Aaron and Johnny Price.

From the first grade were Melissa Alderman, Candace Barber, Stefani Clements, Wendi Conley, Jillian Kerr, Nausherwan Hafeez, Angela Ellerbee, Bryan Lingerfelt, Summer Lowe, Michelle Marchant, Matthew McGartland, Eric Rigdon and Victor Singletary.

Residents and organizations in the community are invited to drop off or mail their news for the South Hillsborough column to Terry Jones, Community Times, Oak Park Plaza, 723 W Lumsden Road, Brandon, FL 33511, or fax it to 226-3331. Deadline for this news is seven working days before your event. All events must be open to the public.