1. Archive

Sunshine Games qualifier set

The regional track and field qualifying meet for the 1993 Sunshine State Games is Saturday at Countryside High School, 3000 State Road 580. Competition will be held in five youth age groups, and open and masters divisions (40 years old and above).

Entry fee is $5. All events, including the 5,000-meter racewalk, start at 9:30 a.m. The top four finishers advance to the Sunshine State Games, which also is a national Junior Olympics qualifier.

Wrestling champions: Led by 15 individual champions, the World Class Wrestling Club of St. Petersburg captured first place in the Florida State Wrestling Championships held recently at River Ridge High School in Pasco County.

In the 8-and-under division, D.J. Felores was first in Greco-Roman and Cesar Grajales took second.

In the 9-10 division, Cameron Morris was first in both freestyle and Greco-Roman; Tony Ciancolo was first in Greco and third in freestyle; Graham Johns was second in Greco; Ryan Rittenhouse was third in Greco; Adam Spataro was first in Greco and second in freestyle; Robert Hogle was third in Greco; Jerome Lowe and David Walker were first in Greco, and Trevor Blackwelder was first in Greco and second in freestyle.

Nick DeLuigi (first in freestyle) was the lone winner in the 11-12 division, while Matt Adams and Aaron Morris were both 13-14 Greco runners-up.

In the 15-16 division, Chuck Thornsby was a double winner; Jason Sevegny was first in Greco; Shawn Merchant and J.D. Askwig were both Greco-Roman runners-up; Mike Peters was second in Greco and third in freestyle, and Ethan Walker was third in Greco.

In the 16-18 division, Joe Merchant was second in Greco and third in freestyle; Joe Longano was first in Greco; Brant Dows was second in Greco, and Keith Leonard was second in Greco and third in freestyle.

In the open division, Mike Madry won in Greco and was second in freestyle; Bob Hogle was second in Greco; Aaron Leitner was third in Greco; Keith Spataro was first in both, and Mike Jenkins was second in Greco and third in freestyle.

In the veterans division, Bob Hogle won in freestyle and Bob Walker was a double winner.