1. Archive



When: Thursday at 2:30 p.m.

Who: The two new expansion teams, the Florida Panthers and the Mighty Ducks of Anaheim, each will select 24 players (three goaltenders, eight defensemen and 13 forwards) from the 24 existing franchises.


1. Each existing team will protect one goaltender, five defensemen and nine forwards. Of those players, at least one defenseman and two forwards must have played in 70 NHL games over the past two seasons or 40 NHL games this season. Games include playoffs. And each team must make available one goaltender who is under a pro contract.

In the 1992 expansion draft, existing teams were able to protect two goaltenders and 14 skaters (could be any combination of forwards and defensemen). The San Jose Sharks, who came into the league for the 1991-92 season, were exempt from the draft pool.

2. All first-year pros will be exempt from this draft. All second-year pros on the Tampa Bay Lightning, Ottawa Senators and Sharks also will be exempt.

3. Each of the existing clubs, including the Lightning, will lose two players: a goalie and a forward; two forwards; or a defenseman and a forward. Teams can't lose two goaltenders, two defenseman or a goalie and a defenseman. That's because fewer players are available at the defensive positions.

4. The Panthers and Ducks may choose up to four free agents.

In the last expansion draft, teams were able to select only one free agent. (The Lightning's free-agent pick was Brian Bradley).

Top players likely to be left unprotected:


Dave Poulin (Boston)

Brent Hughes (Boston)

Colin Patterson (Buffalo)

Brian Skrudland (Calgary)

Michel Goulet (Chicago)

Sheldon Kennedy (Detroit)

Craig MacTavish (Edmonton)

Scott Mellanby (Edmonton)

Terry Yake (Hartford)

Denis Savard (Montreal)

Guy Carbonneau (Montreal)

Mike McPhee (Minnesota)

Peter Stastny (New Jersey)

Tom Chorske (New Jersey)

Derek King (N.Y. Islanders)

Paul Broten (N.Y. Rangers)

Ron Francis (Pittsburgh)

Mike Foligno (Toronto)

Todd Krygier (Washington)

Evgeny Davydov (Winnipeg)


Gord Roberts (Boston)

Bill Houlder (Buffalo)

Dave Hannan (Buffalo)

Chris Dahlquist (Calgary)

Keith Brown (Chicago)

Craig Muni (Chicago)

Steve Konroyd (Detroit)

Doug Houda (Hartford)

J.J. Daigneault (Montreal)

Wayne McBean (NY Islanders)

Joe Cirella (NY Rangers)

Jay Wells (NY Rangers)

Grant Jennings (Pittsburgh)

Dmitri Mironov (Toronto)

Paul Cavallini (Washington)


Rob Ramage (Montreal)

Peter Taglianetti (Pittsburgh)

Doug Crossman (St. Louis)

Basil McRae (St. Louis)

Mike Hartman (NY Rangers)

Anatoli Semenov (Vancouver)


When: Friday, 4 p.m.

Who: The NHL's five newest teams _ the Tampa Bay Lightning, Ottawa Senators, San Jose Sharks, Florida Panthers and Mighty Ducks of Anaheim _ will participate in a sort of swap shop.

Why: This draft gives the three existing teams the opportunity to pick from a pool of players, particularly goalies, selected by the expansion Ducks and Panthers. The NHL added Phase 2 in an effort to make the draft fair for all teams that have entered the league since 1991. When the Lightning, Senators and Sharks chose in the expansion draft, teams could protect two goaltenders. The Panthers and Ducks will have a stronger pool of goaltenders to choose from because teams are allowed to protect only one this year.


1. The Lightning, Senators and Sharks each will make a new protected list of two goaltenders, five defensemen and 10 forwards, with no players exempt. The expansion Panthers and Ducks each will protect one goaltender, five defensemen and 10 forwards from the 24 players they selected in Phase 1.

An example: Tampa Bay rookie defenseman Roman Hamrlik is exempt from having to be protected under Phase 1, but he is not exempt under Phase 2. So the Lightning must protect him or risk losing him in Phase 2.

2. The Lightning, Senators and Sharks, in that order, each may select up to two unprotected pro players from the Panthers and Ducks (which can lose a maximum of one goaltender, one forward and one defenseman each). But it will cost the club that claims a player. That club must drop a player of the same position from its protected list.

3. During the selection of the first three players from the Panthers and Ducks, the team losing a man has the option of choosing an unprotected player of the same position from the "ultimate claiming club" or being paid $100,000. For the fourth to sixth players selected from the Panthers or Ducks, the team that loses the player can choose a man at the same position or $50,000.

But deciding which team is the ultimate claiming club gets complicated. Here's how it could work:

If the Lightning chooses a goalie from the Panthers, the Lightning must drop a goalie from its protected list.

The other four teams now have a crack at all the Lightning's unprotected goalies, in the following order: Senators (existing club that picks first after the Lightning), Sharks (other existing club), Panthers (expansion club that lost original goaltender) and Ducks (other expansion club).

The Senators have the option of picking a goalie from the Lightning or passing. If the Senators do pick, then the Senators must drop a goalie from their protected list. Now the Sharks have first crack at the Senators' goalies, followed by the Panthers and Ducks.

The ultimate claiming club is the last team to select a goalie during this process.

5. Phase 2 will continue until the Ducks and Panthers have lost three players each and been compensated for them, or until the Lightning, Senators and Sharks successively pass.


When: Noon, Saturday.

What: Draft involving 288 players and 11 rounds.

Who: Players eligible are North Americans ages 18, 19 and 20 and non-North Americans 18 or older. All non-North American players must be drafted before they can play in the NHL.

Order of selection in the first round (Anaheim and Florida will determine their order by a coin flip):

1. Ottawa Senators

2. San Jose Sharks

3. Tampa Bay Lightning

4. x-Mighty Ducks of Anaheim or Florida Panthers

5. x-Mighty Ducks of Anaheim or Florida Panthers

6. Hartford Whalers

7. Edmonton Oilers

8. New York Rangers

9. Dallas Stars

10. Quebec Nordiques

(from Philadelphia)

11. Washington Capitals

(from St. Louis)

12. Toronto Maple Leafs

(from Buffalo)

13. New Jersey Devils

14. New York Islanders

15. Winnipeg Jets

16. Edmonton Oilers

(from Los Angeles)

17. Washington Capitals

18. Calgary Flames

19. Toronto Maple Leafs

20. Vancouver Canucks

21. Montreal Canadiens

22. Detroit Red Wings

23. Quebec Nordiques

24. Chicago Blackhawks

25. Boston Bruins

26. Pittsburgh Penguins

Compiled by Times staff writer Cammy Clark