1. Archive

Marshall is new president of insurance organization

New officers for 1993-94 were installed for the East Hillsborough Insurance Women during special ceremonies at a dinner meeting recently.

Past president Sharon Barger passed the gavel of authority to Clara Marshall, the new president. Other officers installed included Ruth Stroop, president elect; Rachael Weissman, vice president; Coleen Davis, secretary; and Leslie Neal, treasurer.

During the meeting Robert Martin, president of the Sun City Center Chamber of Commerce, presented a proclamation for National Insurance Women's Week.

The local group is part of the National Association of Insurance Women that actively promotes adherence to professionalism, service and integrity in the industry.

The group meets the third Tuesday of each month. For information call Weissman at 634-7100.

Club officers attend meeting

Representing the Preceptor Alpha Nu chapter of Beta Sigma Phi at the state convention in Orlando recently were local president Dee Taylor and members Lois Lastinger, Sheila Haddix, Jean Maxwell and Mary Green.

Geri Strehl was honored as the Chapter Girl of the Year and Green was the City Council Woman of the Year.

Apollo Beach students honored

Excellence in Education awards were given to several students at Apollo Beach Elementary School recently.

Maria Cardenas was the only student recognized from the sixth-grade class.

Recognized from the fifth grade were Monica Barrantes, Julie Fatjo, Camie Harris, Christopher Flatt, Noah Miranda, John Shute, Lauren Siliati, Rose-Ann Figueroa, Michelle Hosang, Erica Schmied, Lori Mecsko, Matthew Knight, Joseph LaBarbera and Emily Leung.

Fourth-graders included Richard Chang, Danielle Cummings, Enick Cora, Lacey Garbelman, Nakaela Hales, Michael Hamaker, John LaBarbera, Heather Leek, Lindsay Ryan, Leigh Anne Hamilton, Traci White and Diana Spisak.

Third-graders included Richard Chapin, Amanda King, Aiden Joyce, Lina Luu, Stacey Meiler, Rustin Needer, Kristine Odom, Tara Anne Santa-Maria, Stephen Speller, Karen Stover, Christina Hart, Megan Shute, Lacey Miranda, Ashley and Brittney Johnson, Renee Watley and Jeri Fatjo.

From the second grade were Sheena Begley, Daniel Derito, Megan Hussey, Sally Mecsko, Amanda Thompson, Melissa Taylor, Nicole Zayas, Meranda Campbell, Noelle Hoffman, William Proctor and Paul Spisak. First-graders included Megan Crow, Alison Leeper, Casey Smith and Anne Svercek.

Residents and organizations in the community are invited to drop off or mail their news for the South Hillsborough column to Terry Jones, Community Times, Oak Park Plaza, 723 W Lumsden Road, Brandon, FL 33511, or fax it to 226-3331. Deadline for this news is seven working days before your event. All events must be open to the public.