1. Archive

Teachers nominated for award

Mainstreaming teachers and the children in their classroom face challenges beyond the academic.

Mainstreaming teachers must work to help physically, mentally or emotionally challenged children participate in general education classes, work in the least restrictive environment and work as much in the mainstream as they can while remaining successful.

Schools throughout the county recognized mainstreaming teachers recently by nominating them for the 1994 Nancy Givens Mainstreaming Teacher of the Year Award.

The Council for Exceptional Children, Chapter 176, will announce the elementary, middle and high school winners of the award at a banquet March 10 at the Sheraton Sand Key.

Nominees in the elementary school category are Alison Blanchett, Tyrone; Susan Butler, Seminole; Margaret Bryant, Bauder; Robert Franck, Starkey; Mark Furlott, Pinellas Park; Nancy Hanigan, San Jose; Mark Iannello, Tarpon Springs; Barbara Khoury, High Point; Donald Kucerik, Seventy-Fourth Street; Joyce Maher, Skycrest; Deborah O'Hare, Cross Bayou; Janice Press, North Shore; Millie Sokell, Walsingham; Leslie Tomlin, Bardmoor; and Stanley Urquhart, Blanton.

Nominees in the middle school category are David Brotherton, Fitzgerald; Barbara Clare, Lealman Discovery; Victoria Mazzone, Safety Harbor; Gerald Popejoy, Osceola; John Francis Rankin, Pinellas Park; Candace Ripoli, Palm Harbor; and Edward Shay, Tarpon Springs.

High school nominees are Patricia Celentano, Largo; Dale Dewberry, Countryside; Brad Finkbiner, Osceola; Tom LaPorta, Tarpon Springs; Lee Schmoll, PTEC near Largo; Sam Schrift, Seminole; Joseph Tomasovsky, Pinellas Park; and Charles Walsh, Dunedin.

For banquet reservations, call your school principal, a CEC member or Molly Engle at 462-9688.