1. Archive


Published Oct. 6, 2005

South Florida: Former Metro Conference rookie of the year Tammy Van Oppen (1993) was named to the All-Metro team. Renee Bellamy was named to the All-Metro second team and Jenny Koeppel to the freshman team.

Morgan State: The team was declared ineligible for the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference tournament for having played one too many regular-season games. Under NCAA rules, teams are limited to 27 games, including tournament contests, which count as a single game no matter how far a team advances. Morgan played 27 games _ before the tournament _ because of a scheduling oversight. "It was a potential scheduling problem I made our people aware of in August, long before the season began, and it should have been corrected," said Kenneth McBryde. Morgan (4-12) would have opened against Maryland-Eastern Shore (3-13) Thursday.

Around the nation

Award: Donyell Marshall of Connecticut, Grant Hill of Duke, Glenn Robinson of Purdue, Clifford Rozier of Louisville and Jason Kidd of California were named finalists for the U.S. Basketball Writers Association Player of the Year Award.