1. Archive

13 win marine science honors

Published Oct. 8, 2005

The marine science department at the University of South Florida, St. Petersburg campus, honored 13 graduate students in September at the Poynter Institute. Fellowship recipients were Tracy Sutton, Jack Lake Fellowship; Marguerite Toscano, St. Petersburg Progress Costal Science Fellowship; Lisa Young, Robert Garrells Memorial Fellowship; Sunny Jiang and Chunzai Wang, Gulf Oceanographic Charitable Trust Fellowships; Scott Pichard, Tonya Clayton, Renate Bernstein and David Mallinson, Knight Endowed Fellowship; and Alec Richardson, Paul L. Getting Memorial Fellowship.

The memorial in honor of Paul L. Getting was presented for the first time. Getting, executive vice president of the St. Petersburg Chamber of Commerce, died in October 1993. He was instrumental in the success of the marine science and U.S. Geological Survey programs at USF, St. Petersburg campus.

Citations for excellence were awarded to the following: Chris Kellogg, Frederick R. Jr. and Mary Shaner Murtagh Award; Nancy Schmidt, Ann and Werner Von Rosentiel Award; and Helen Talge, Carl Riggs Award.

Dr. Peter Betzer, chairman of the marine science department, said the fellowships bring the graduate students "a world class education" and allows them to "experience the importance of community support" as part of their college education.

In addition to the presentation of the fellowships, Andrew Barnes, editor, president and chief executive officer of the St. Petersburg Times, presented a $20,000 check toward a $220,000 gift to expand a successful USF/USGS program: the Eminent Scholars Lecture Series. The program, which was established by the Times in 1988, brings world-renowned scientists to St. Petersburg.

Orchestra accepts local students

Joseph Frederick Brent, a 1993 graduate of Chamberlain High School, Tampa and son of Michael and M. Laurie Brent, and Peter N. Schlecht, a 1993 graduate of St. Petersburg High School and son of Glenn and Susan Schlecht of St. Petersburg, auditioned and were accepted as members of the DePauw University Symphony Orchestra for 1994-95. Brent plays the violin, and Schlecht plays the trombone. The DePauw symphony at DePauw University, Greencastle, Ind., is one of the nation's oldest university orchestras.

Local nurses get Pro-Nurse awards

United Pinellas Nursing Leaders awarded its annual Pro-Nurse Award certificates to six area nurses for excellence in their field. Recipients were Karen Henry of St. Pete Beach and Lona Mathews of Largo, for excellence in hospital nursing at the VA Medical Center at Bay Pines. Sheryl Engham, of Tampa, for excellence in home health care nursing at Mease Home Health Care, Dunedin. Linda Moore of Largo, for excellence in specialty nursing at CONVATEC, Clearwater, and Nancy Castor also of Clearwater, for excellence in management at Independent Home Health Care, Clearwater. Mitzie Andrews Ekers received the lifetime achievement award. She works at St. Anthony's Hospital in St. Petersburg. The awards were presented at the UPNL annual seminar.

This column is published in the City Times as space is available. Entries include St. Petersburg, Pinellas Park, Gulfport, Kenneth City, South Pasadena and the gulf beaches. If you have good news to share, submit it to Good For You, c/o St. Petersburg Times, P.O. Box 1121, St. Petersburg, FL 33731. Please include telephone number and return address.