1. Archive


Published Oct. 8, 2005

St. Petersburg High School's No-So-We-Ea yearbook staff took first place in "On-the-Spot" competition for yearbook design at the District 4 Florida Scholastic Press Association Conference on Oct. 1 at Leto High School in Tampa. Staff members are Collette Macon (editor-in-chief), Cara Coates, Courtney Crummett and Kathy Fetzer.

Four Pinellas County high school students have been recognized as semifinalists in the National Achievement Scholarship Program for Outstanding Negro Students.

They are Lorrin J. Rowe and Anton F. Thomas of the Center for Advanced Technologies at Lakewood High School; Chrisonda J. McDonald of Gibbs High School; and Julia E. Richardson of Northeast High School.

The Achievement Program is a privately financed competition for Black Americans conducted by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. Semifinalists represent the highest-scoring entrants in each region. To qualify as a finalist, a semifinalist must have a record of high academic performance throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by the school principal, submit SAT scores that confirm their earlier PSAT/NMSQT performance and, with a school official, complete a detailed scholarship application that includes information about the student's contributions to school and community activities, educational interests and goals. About 1,200 semifinalists are expected to become finalists. Achievement Scholarship finalists will be chosen from the finalist group.