1. Archive


Published Oct. 8, 2005

Jeff Davis, Shorecrest football: The Chargers' middle linebacker, Davis made 16 solo tackles, including a sack, three assists and one fumble recovery in the Chargers' 6-0 win over Lehigh.

Vicki Drakakis, Clearwater volleyball: A junior, Drakakis helped the Tornadoes beat Tarpon Springs for the Pinellas County Athletic Conference title with strong play at the net, including six kills and two blocks for points.

Heidi Hester, Lakewood swimming: Hester picked up four blue ribbons at the city championships, taking part in the first-place 200-yard free and 400 free relays, and also winning the individual 200 and 500 freestyle races.

John Hope, Dixie Hollins cross country: Although Dixie does not have the cross country team it did last year, it still has Hope, who placed second in the Pinellas County Athletic Conference meet with a 3-mile time of 16 minutes, 3 seconds.

Tondrick Robinson, Clearwater football: A junior quarterback, Robinson was never off-target, completing 10-of-13 passes for two touchdowns and 237 yards in the Tornadoes' vital 42-14 win over Tarpon Springs.

Emily Saunders, Lakewood cross country: Saunders ran a personal-best time at Crescent Lake (11 minutes, 41 seconds) to place second in the Pinellas County Athletic Conference meet and lead the Spartans the team title.

Ricardo Williams, Dixie Hollins football: Williams paced the Rebels in their key district win over Gibbs with 117 yards rushing and three touchdowns.

Previous selections _ Cross country: Shannon Burcham, Clearwater; Carrie Wilson, Clearwater Catholic; Jacob Zammito, Largo; Lou Snelling, Seminole. Football: Deon Jackson, Boca Ciega; Jermaine Clemons, Clearwater; Dave Holland, Roy Manns, Bryan Walden, East Lake; Matt Backe, Alvin Jones, Shaun King, Gibbs; Armando Andrade, Lakewood; Lakenji Cooper, Largo; Anthony Urino, Northeast; Todd Clark, Justin Klinger, David York, Northside Christian; Bryan Freese, Hassan Lang, Alvin Mathis, Osceola; Nathan Hallet, Fred Meinke, Shorecrest; Terrell Jackson, Kevin McNamee, Seminole. Swimming: Monica Williams, Dunedin; Laura Towery, Osceola; Jon Swisher, St. Petersburg; Lloyd Hamilton, Seminole; Jerrod Kappler, Tarpon Springs. Volleyball: Jenni Gildersleeve, Stacey Roberts, Clearwater; Kim Zschau, Clearwater Catholic; Tracy Schroeder, Pinellas Park; Heather Bradley, Shorecrest; Tanya Kazaleh, Tarpon Springs.

Class of the County members are chosen by Times staff writers. Nominations can be made by coaches only, during office hours on Monday, to Roger Mills (893-8123). Athletes can only be selected to the Class once per season.