1. Archive

Oldsmar man honored by British

Published Oct. 8, 2005

Allan J. Wash of Oldsmar recently received a British Air Crew Europe Star medal for his service in joint operations of the United States Air Force and the British Royal Air Force during World War II. The award was presented last month at the 15th Bombardment Squadron (Light) "Final Reunion" at the Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs, Colo.

Wash was a member of the 15th Bomb Squadron, the first U.S. air unit to land in England. On July 4, 1942, the squadron launched the first U.S. strike against German forces in Europe.

Wash, 78, came here in 1981 from Minneapolis, where he retired as a senior vice president of Kerker and Associates public relations firm.

Cancer volunteers receive awards

American Cancer Society Pinellas Unit volunteers were honored last month at the unit's annual volunteer awards banquet. Dr. Kenneth Bryant received the Life Saver award; Jerry Hough, Quality of Life award; Wayne A. Momberg, Courage award; Lita Sargent, Golden Sword award; Lola Badalament, DiscoveryShop award; LaQuita Caltabiano, Volunteer of the Year award; David and Bertha Kopf, President's award; and St. Anthony's Hospital, Partners In Cancer Control award.

New volunteer board members are Randy Arnegger; Nioma Brown; Dr. Charmaine Carter; Donald Culbertson; Michele Delafranconi; Denise Epstein; Carl M. Hall; Andrew Hano; Barbara Hunkeler; Christine Joyal; Joan Kline; Wayne A. Momberg; Dr. Julio Ochoa; Dr. Robert Reichert; Kitty Robinson; Howard Sachs; Lita Sargent; David Schanzer; and Erin Smith.

Couple celebrates 50th anniversary

Robert and Sue King of Clearwater celebrated their 50th anniversary recently with a trip to Knoxville, Tenn., and Pigeon Forge, Tenn. They also had a fami-ly celebration in Pennsylvania. The couple married Oct. 21, 1944, in Waynesburg, Pa. He worked 20 years for the Kapok Tree in Clearwater. The Kings, who are members of First Christian Church of Largo, have three sons and two grandsons.

Masonic Lodge gives longevity awards

Wendall Nolan has received a 50-year longevity award from Dunedin Masonic Lodge 192. O.J. Tooke and Edwin Harlan each received 40-year awards and Harold Korb and Howard Swartout received 25-year awards.

Sertomans install officers, directors

Dennis Callahan has been installed president of Sertoma Club of Clearwater. Gary Reinhardt is vice president of programs; David Ewert, vice president of sponsorship; Patti Caccamo, vice president of membership; Dave Burton, secretary; Harry Jamieson, treasurer; and Brum Humphries, sergeant at arms. Directors are Mamie Billups, Paul Crawford, Chuck Gargola and Linda Russell.