1. Archive

Haislett might be top female athlete

Published Jan. 8, 1995|Updated Oct. 3, 2005

Nicole Haislett's collegiate swimming career may be over, but the accolades may not be.

Haislett, an Olympic gold medalist from St. Petersburg and the University of Florida, is one of 11 female athletes nominated for the 1993-94 Honda Broderick Cup, given to the year's outstanding collegiate woman athlete.

The winner will be announced Monday night at the NCAA Convention in San Diego.

Haislett was chosen the top female swimmer for the 1993-94 academic year after winning three NCAA titles _ the 200-meter and 500-meter freestyle and 400 medley relay, completing a four-year sweep of the 200 (the only person to do so). Her time of 2 minutes, 44.51 seconds is an NCAA record.

Haislett earned the one-year maximum of seven All-America honors, tallying the maximum 28 for her career. She is a three-time Broderick Cup candidate.

The following candidates also qualified by being selected the top athletes in their sports:

Field hockey player Kristy Gleason of Iowa, a senior All-American who finished as the NCAA's second all-time leading scorer;

Soccer player Mia Hamm of North Carolina, a senior who led the nation in scoring for the third time in becoming the NCAA's all-time leading scorer;

Gymnast Jenny Hansen of Kentucky, a sophomore who won her second, third and fourth NCAA titles, including her second consecutive all-around title with an NCAA record score of 39.75;

Track and field athlete Holli Hyche of Indiana State, a senior All-American who won NCAA championships in the indoor 55-meter and 200-meter, and outdoor 100 to bring her career total to seven titles;

Basketball player Lisa Leslie of Southern California, a senior who finished her career as the Pac-10's all-time leading scorer and was selected national player of the year by Naismith and the United States Basketball Writers Association, in addition to earning All-America honors for the third time;

Tennis player Angela Lettiere of Georgia, a senior who won the NCAA singles championship in leading the Bulldogs to the NCAA team title;

Softball player Susie Parra of Arizona, a senior All-American who pitched Arizona to the NCAA championship with a season record of 37-1, a 1.04 ERA and 244 strikeouts in 221 innings;

Volleyball player Danielle Scott of Cal State-Long Beach, a senior middle blocker who was selected the NCAA Player of the Year after earning Final Four MVP honors and setting the NCAA career attack percentage record at .421;

Golfer Wendy Ward of Arizona State, a junior All-American who led the nation with a 73.13 stroke average and took medalist honors at three events;

Cross country runner Carole Zajac of Villanova, a senior All-American who became only the second woman to win consecutive NCAA championships.

The Broderick Cup has been awarded annually since 1977.

Silver Bullets tryout: The Colorado Silver Bullets, the only women's professional baseball team to compete against men, will have an open tryout Jan. 21 at City of Palms Park in Fort Myers. The Bullets will begin their second season with spring training in Fort Myers in April.

For information, call (800) 765-9259.


This site no longer supports your current browser. Please use a modern and up-to-date browser version for the best experience.

Chrome Firefox Safari Edge