Our coronavirus coverage is free for the first 24 hours. Find the latest information at Please consider subscribing or donating.

  1. Archive

East Lake graduate gets scholarship

Hoa Thuy Dang, a resident of Condon Gardens in Clearwater, has won a 1995 Florida Association of Housing and Redevelopment Officials Education Scholarship.

Dang tied for first place, receiving a $2,500 college scholarship to the school of her choice. She applied for the scholarship through the Clearwater Housing Authority and was named a winner at a luncheon after interviews of the top six finalists during a recent FAHRO conference in St. Augustine.

"She tried so hard," said Clearwater Housing Authority member Carole Duckworth, who escorted Dang to St. Augustine. "Her essay was just excellent and when (interviewers) talked to her, they were thrilled with the answers she gave."

Selection as a finalist was based on scholastic achievement and evidence of personal motivation and initiative shown through participation in extracurricular activities, Duckworth said.

Dang is a 1995 graduate of East Lake High School, where she was an honor student, vice president of the Culture Club, and a member of Mu Alpha Theta math honor society and the Spanish Honor Society.

Dang plans to study business and accounting at the University of South Florida.

Short-story winners named

Anthony Locascio of Dunedin High School received special recognition in the 1995 Friends of the Largo Library Short Story Competition. Locascio has placed first in the competition for three consecutive years.

The Friends of the Largo Library sponsor three short story contests each year for students in fourth through 12th grades. There were 242 entries from 31 Pinellas County schools in the middle- and high-school divisions of this year's competition. Science fiction was the story theme for middle-school pupils. "Private Eyes, Sleuths and Spies" was the theme at the high-school level.

Locascio, whose teacher was Albert Weeks, received $100 for first place. Carrie Higgs, who is home schooled, received $50 for second place. Josh Ladd of Osceola High in Seminole and Christine Webber of Countryside High in Clearwater tied for third place and received $25 each. Ladd's teacher was John Stewart, and Webber's teacher was Marjorie Shoaff.

At the middle-school level, first place and $100 went to Kristine Hopper of Carwise Middle School in Palm Harbor, teacher Susan Terry; second place and $50 went to Maureen McGough of St. Paul's Catholic School in St. Petersburg, teacher Marijon Reed; and third place and $25 went to Lindsey Luxa of Sixteenth Street Middle School in St. Petersburg, teacher Ann Dallmann.

Honorable mention certificates for talent and originality went to Jodi Bartolini of St. Cecelia Catholic School in Clearwater, teacher Rhea Brown; Beth Carlson and Ben Gruchow of Carwise Middle, teacher Susan Terry; Bridget Mahoney and Ellen Trimarco of Tarpon Springs Middle, teacher Hrisa Mathews; Ashley Noble of St. Paul's, teacher Marijon Reed; Monica Wrobel of Dunedin Middle, teacher Bonnie Sharp; Susan Henderson of St. Petersburg High School, teacher Patricia Linzie; Aaron Hon of Osceola High, teacher John Stewart; and Justin Moore of Keswick Christian School, teacher Steve Hicks.

_ Information for the Young Newsmakers column may be sent to Pat Scarberry, 710 Court St., Clearwater, FL 34616. Please include a contact name and phone number. Photos may be submitted but cannot be returned without a stamped, self-addressed envelope.