Our coronavirus coverage is free for the first 24 hours. Find the latest information at Please consider subscribing or donating.

  1. Archive


Congratulations to John Wayne "Bo" Howard, a first-grader at West Zephyrhills Elementary School who won first place for the Dennis K. Mulligan Award. The award, a $100 savings bond, a certificate and a pin, was presented to him at the May School Board meeting.

Amee Patel, a student at River Ridge High School, competed in the National Trig-Star competition and won a $100 savings bond.

The senior FFA Meats Judging Team at Pasco Comprehensive High School placed first in the FFA State Meat Judging Contest April 22 at the University of Florida. Team members are Justin Newsome, Jason Costine, Ben Blocker, Heather Smith and Crystal Davenport. The junior FFA Meats Judging team placed second. Team members include Brian Dillard, Anne Neel and Melissa Shepherd.

The Pasco Comprehensive High School Land Judging team placed first at the county level contest and sixth at the state contest March 31. Team member Ben Blocker was fourth high school individual in the state. Other team members include Kennis Boltin, Nick Dillard, Danny Muzzio, Jason Costine, Brian Dillard and Roger McKendree.

Ed Braddy, a science teacher at River Ridge High School, received the Kim Lignell Award for Excellence in Teaching Math. The Lignell Award is sponsored by the Florida West Coast Section of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers Inc.

The Zephyrhills High School Bulldog Battalion has retained its "Honor Unit With Distinction" status earned during last year's Army Inspection. This is the highest honor for a JROTC unit.

Paula Neale, a junior at Zephyrhills High School, recently won "Best of Show" for her entry in the Congressional Art Competition. Her acrylic portrait painting of her sister Renae will now be framed and sent to Washington, D.C., where it will be on display for one year in the office of U.S. Rep. Mike Bilirakis, R-Palm Harbor.

The following Hudson Elementary School pupils were named winners in the District Science Fair held April 29 at Hudson High School. Age 8: Garrett Reeves, second place. Age 9: Katie Wilson, third place; Megan Brinkman, second place; and Swarna Kumar, second place. Age 10: John Eanes, third place; Hilary Caron, third place. Age 11: Evan Adams, second place; Stephanie Cox, third place; and Tommy Sullivan, third place.

Students from Land O'Lakes High School participated in the Florida Spanish State Conference April 27-29 in Orlando and won 18 first-place awards, five second-place awards and two third-place awards. The following students participated: Amanda Bennett, Jennifer Bevin, Marisa Cornejo, Danielle Freyberger, Melissa Hite, Lonna Kline, Yarelis Melendez, Nathan Phillips, Janice Rivera, Juan Villeda.

The Ridgewood High School band brought home four first-place trophies from the Smoky Mountain Music Festival on April 28 and 29 in Gatlinburg, Tenn. The band competed against 32 bands from 12 states. Under the direction of Robert J. Neal the band won first place in Symphonic Band, Wind Ensemble and Jazz Band. The Guard won first place in Advanced Class Winter Guard.