1. Archive

Brooksville Elementary honors terrific pupils

Published Oct. 4, 2005

Each month the staff at Brooksville Elementary School recognizes pupils for good behavior and excellent work habits. Here is a listing of "Terrific Kids" for the month of May.

Kindergarten: Shatashawa Early, Misty Goodwin, Deanna Klapka, Charlie Scalf and Corey White.

First grade: Anthony Accetta, Kenny Anderson, Nicole Cameron, Shawn Fox, Justin Haimes, Quenton Lee, Stephanie Lisk, Kyle McFee, Tequila Newberry, Wayne Piermatteo and Michael Robinson.

Second grade: Dale Deweese and Shakona Smith.

Third grade: Jeff Matherly and Elizabeth Wallace.

Fourth grade: Kristine Bailey, Becky Bartos, Colleen Heap, Sachin Patel, Ashley Trowell and Rickey Walters.

Fifth grade: Nick Brayko, Rebecca Elliott, Justo Noguera and Hilleary Wentzel.

Janet Catherwood recently received the West Hernando/Spring Hill Hadassah Leadership Award. She was honored for her leadership accomplishments and other civic, educational and cultural deeds that reflect dedication to the principles of volunteerism. Catherwood lives in Hudson and has been Hadassah's vice president of education. She also volunteers at Bayonet Point Hospital and at the Hudson library.

American Legion Post 208 recently elected officers: Walter F. Spengler, commander; Richard Izbicki, first vice commander; Earl Neagles, second vice commander; Mary M. Hinds, adjutant; Mildred Stull, finance officer; John Streeter, chaplain; Charles Volpe, judge advocate; Clyde Newell, sergeant at arms; and Rodger Hinds, assistant sergeant at arms. Anthony Martin, Charles Gallagher, Roland Gast, Beatrice Gallagher and Mary Ludian are on the executive committee.

Here are the recipients of the food preservation awards for exhibits offered during the Hernando County Fair, which was held March 31 through April 9. All entries were canned in Ball jars and sealed with Ball two-piece vacuum caps.

Fruits: Dianna Quillen, first prize; and Cheryl Wilson, second prize.

Vegetables: Dianna Quillen, first prize; and Evelyn Henderson, second prize.

Pickled foods: Joan Searle, first prize and best of show; and Jalania Seyfert, second prize.

Soft spread: Ruth McGookey, first prize; and Jalania Seyfert, second prize.

Youth entries: fruits, Charles Anderson; vegetables, Matthew McGookey; and soft spreads, Sarah Salzman.

Kathleen Jordan received the top walker award for her participation in the April 29 annual March of Dimes 25th anniversary walk-a-thon. Jordan, a team captain for Regional Healthcare Inc., received a plaque for the most donations collected in Hernando County.

Sandi Riddle won the Queen for a Day raffle recently sponsored by the Brooksville Junior Service League. Some of the prizes were a dozen red roses, a $200 shopping spree at the Olive Leaf and a get-away trip for two at the Crown Hotel in Inverness. Riddle is an accounts payable clerk at Regional Healthcare Inc.

Jason Barroncini recently was named an All-American Collegiate Scholar. Recipients must have a 3.3 or higher grade point average and be sponsored by a teacher, coach, counselor or other qualified person. The All-American Collegiate Scholar Award Program was established by the United States Achievement Academy in Lexington, Ky. Barroncini, who attends the Florida School of the Arts, was nominated by Dean Beaulah M. Flournoy. He is the son of Marjorie and John Barroncini of Spring Hill.

Jennifer Hastings was honored with the Good Citizenship Award by Daughters of the American Revolution Winding Waters Chapter. Hastings is a senior at Central High School. Her scholastic achievements include serving as president of the school's academic team, representing Central and Hernando County at Barnett Banks Academic Competition for Excellence, historian of the Spanish Honors Society, a flute player with the school marching band and concert band. Hastings also is a member of the National Honors Society and Students Against Driving Drunk. In addition to her school community activities, Hastings was recognized for her essay "Our American heritage and our responsibility to preserve it." She received a certificate, pin and check for $200.

Good for You highlights achievements and accomplishments of Hernando County residents and organizations. It will be published occasionally. Submit information to Jean Johnson, Hernando Times, 161 E Jefferson St., Brooksville, FL 34601. Please include the name and phone number of someone we can contact if we have questions regarding the information.