Our coronavirus coverage is free for the first 24 hours. Find the latest information at Please consider subscribing or donating.

  1. Archive




University Women honored

The Suncoast Carrollwood Branch of the American Association of University Women received a 5-Star award June 24 during the AAUW national convention in Orlando. Suncoast Carrollwood was one of 411 branches out of 1,750 nationwide to receive a 5-Star award. The award honors branches that have achieved exemplary progress in membership development, public policy, fund-raising, community action and leadership. The American Association of University Women is a leading advocate for education and equity for women and girls. For membership information, call Leslie Henderson, 960-7621, or Alice Walker, 988-9336.


Biostatistician awarded grant

C. Hendricks Brown, a University of South Florida biostatistician, received a $500,000 Independent Scientist Award from the National Institute of Mental Health. The grant, the only competitive independent scientist award given by the institute's Prevention Research Branch this year, will allow Brown to take time off from teaching to conduct mental health research full time over the next five years. Brown directs the Biostatistics and Epidemiology Center for Health Research in the College of Public Health. He and his colleagues are developing statistical methods to study community-based prevention programs that work to reduce anxiety and depression and improve mental health.


Tampa Realistic Artists

Tampa Realistic Artists has announced its 1995-96 officers. Wanda Vernon is president; Elizabeth Kenefick, first vice president; Carol Christie, second vice president; Joyce Dudley, recording secretary; Ruth Leonard, corresponding secretary; and Margaret Hylton, treasurer. Directors are Leroy Jackson Sr., building committee; F. Lou Jones and Ann Nicely, exhibition co-chairmen; Ann Sullivan, finance; Frances Dingman, membership; Rosamond Elliott, program; and Halsey Pelt, publicity. Appointed committee members include Heidi Johns, Gallery Hop chairwoman; Wahn Strouf, historian/librarian; Deborah DeFancesco, newsletter; Pamela Roman, social chairwoman; and Carol Grandinetti, workshops. An All-Media Show opens today and runs through July 29 at the Old Hyde Park Art Center, 705 Swann Ave. Gallery hours are noon to 3 p.m. weekends and by appointment (884-9461). The opening reception is planned for 6 to 10 p.m. July 15 during the Tampa Gallery Hop. Tampa Realistic Artists also will have a general membership meeting at 7:30 p.m. July 13 at the Old Hyde Park Art Center. Past President Leroy Jackson will give a soap sculpture demonstration. For information, call 251-3780.