1. Archive


The Lutz Chiefs extended their unbeaten streak to 22 games and captured a second consecutive mighty mites crown with a 7-0 win over the Dade City Pirates in the Pasco Police Athletic League Super Bowl.

Three other divisional Super Bowls were played Nov. 18 at the Land O'Lakes Recreation Complex.

The Tarpon Springs Spongers took two titles for the second straight year, hammering the Shady Hills Raiders 40-14 in the junior varsity division and defeating the New Port Richey Buccaneers 12-6 in the varsity game. The East Lake Eagles posted a 7-0 shutout over New Port Richey for the flyweight title.

Each PPAL Super Bowl champion represented the Southern Conference, marking a second straight sweep of the Northern Conference. Tarpon Springs and Lutz each won two PPAL Super Bowls last season.

The Lutz mighty mites are 21-0-1 during the past two seasons, assistant coach Don Kirschner said, "because they stay focused and listen and are easily coached."

David Voth is the head coach and his assistants are Kirschner, Bud Pryor, Dennis Dugan and Dave Smith.

Lutz scored in the first quarter with Wes Voth, who rushed for a game-high 93 yards, carrying the football into the end zone from four yards out. Phillip Pryor then caught a 1-point conversion pass from quarterback Anthony Severino, who completed 5-of-7 passes for 36 yards.

That proved to be all the scoring the Chiefs would need. The defense did the rest, digging in to hold the Pirates to a mere four offensive plays in the first half.

David Smith recovered a fumble and Phillip Beauchamp had an interception for Lutz in the second half. Kirschner credited the entire defense for its solid play. That unit also includes Ryan Capas, Jonathan Kirschner, Kyle Salman, Jessie Ballard, Craig Bullara, Cory Alvarez, Kyle Gerberding, Hunter Haya, Voth and Severino.

Dade City coach Steve Glavich said his team played better than a 19-6 loss to Lutz in the regular season, "but not good enough."

Defensive backs Chris Roberts, Robby Cole and Scott Orr, as well as quarterback Matt Prowant and guard/linebacker Corey Filley, played well for the Pirates, according to Glavich.

The Lutz most valuable players were Beauchamp and Voth while Kenneth Roberts and Ben Alford were named Dade City's MVPs.

The largest margin of victory came in the JV game, where Tarpon Springs halted a 15-game winning streak by Shady Hills with a 26-point win.

The Spongers were led by offensive MVP Acki Houllis, who surpassed 100 yards rushing and had two touchdowns. The fullback/kicker also booted four 2-point conversions.

Jason Freiesleben ran for two touchdowns, Jessie Lane threw a 40-yard pass to Dean Knapp and Patrick Alonso returned a fumble 23 yards to account for the rest of the Spongers' scoring.

Brad Felton earned offensive MVP honors for Shady Hills by scoring on a 2-yard quarterback sneak and a 40-yard sweep.

The defensive MVPs were Knapp and the Raiders' Brad Lankford.

In the varsity game, Tarpon Springs quarterback Theo Koulianos plunged into the end zone from a yard out in the final minute. That play was set up by Nick Dovellos' 15-yard run. Dovellos finished with 104 rushing yards.

The Spongers and Bucs traded touchdowns earlier with Koulianos throwing a 30-yard pass to Justin Lambe and Vinnie LaVecchi tossing an 8-yard pass to Kevin Leigh.

Max Houllis and Josh Freiesleben were Tarpon Springs' MVPs. Mike Sestokas and Terry Gillman were the MVPs for New Port Richey.

Lewis Caralla had a hand in all the scoring in the flyweight game. The East Lake running back ran for a touchdown and caught a conversion pass from quarterback Alex Kidman.

East Lake's MVPs were Caralla and Miles Lantrip. Brendan Geronimo and Tim Such were the New Port Richey MVPs.

The Super Cheeroff winners were: flyweights _ Hudson; mighty mites _ East Lake; junior varsity _ New Port Richey; and varsity _ Lutz.