1. Archive


Dates: July 28-Aug. 2

Venue: Georgia Tech Aquatic Center

TV sessions:

July 28 _ 7 p.m.-midnight

July 29 _ 7:30 p.m.-midnight

Aug. 1 _ 7:30 p.m.-midnight

Aug. 2 _ 7:30 p.m.-midnight

Daily schedule:

July 28 _ Men's 3-meter preliminary

July 29 _ Men's 3-meter semifinal and final

Aug. 1 _ Men's platform preliminary

Aug. 2 _ Men's platform semifinal and final

Terms you need to know:

Diving categories _ Three categories of dives (forward, backward, twist) are self-explanatory. The other three are inward (in which the diver faces the board or platform and rotates toward the board), reverse (in which the diver takes off facing the water but rotates backward) and armstand (a platform-only category in which the diver starts off in a handstand).

List _ An athlete's list of dives for competition. A "full list" includes both required and optional dives.

Platform _ The platform (or "tower") is 10 meters (about 33 feet) high, at least 20 feet long and 6{ feet wide.

Rip _ The sound made during a near-perfect entry with little splash.

Fun fact: Dr. Sammy Lee, a native of Fresno, Calif., whose parents were Korean, won Olympic platform titles in 1948 and 1952 and won a silver medal on springboard in 1948. Divers today know him best for "The Sammy," a small synthetic chamois-like cloth that divers use to wipe water off their bodies so they won't slip out of position while spinning in the air. These small colorful cloths _ of which there are several name brands available _ are as much a security blanket as a diving tool.

All-time best U.S. male diver: Greg Louganis twice swept the 3-meter and platform gold medals _ a feat never accomplished by any other male even once. He won both easily in 1984 and did it again in 1988, despite the fact that he hit his head on the 3-meter during competition, requiring stitches. Louganis also won a silver on platform in 1976 at age 16. He holds a record 47 U.S. titles.


3-meter springboard: Scott Donie, Mark Lenzi.

Platform: Patrick Jeffrey, David Pichler.


Men's 3-meter:

Gold _ Dmitry Sautin, Russia.

Silver _ Xiong Ni, China.

Bronze _ Xiao Hailiang, China.

Men's platform:

Gold _ Sun Shuwei, China.

Silver _ Dmitry Sautin, Russia.

Bronze _ Vladimir Timoshinin, Russia.