Editor's Note: This is one in a monthly series of informational columns provided by Betty Strifler, Clerk of the Circuit Court in Citrus County. If you have any questions, contact the clerk's office at the number indicated. The office hours are 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m. weekdays, except holidays.
Child restraint law
Florida law requires that all children younger than 6 must be buckled up in a crash tested, federally approved, child-restraint device when they are traveling on the roadways, streets or highways. For infants through 3 years, such restraint devices must be a separate carrier. For children ages 4 through 5, a separate carrier or seat belt may be used.
The amount of the fine for not having a child in a restraint is $155, plus 3 points will be assessed against your license. An accumulation of 12 points within 12 months will cause the suspension of your driving privilege for 30 days.
If you have any questions, call the traffic department in the clerk's office at 637-9434.
Hunting and fishing are among the numerous recreational activities available in Citrus County. However, Florida law states that no person shall take game, fish, or fur-bearing animals within this state without first obtaining a license or stamp. Failure to obtain a license or stamp can result in a citation being issued and a civil penalty being assessed. The civil penalty in most cases is an amount equal to the amount that should have been paid for a license or stamp plus $55.
So enjoy your hunting and fishing in Citrus County, but make sure you carry a valid license with you.
If you have a contribution or a tip for Bulletin Board, please contact Mary Ann Koslasky, Citrus Times, 301 W Main St., Inverness, FL 34450; or call 860-7319 between 10 a.m. and 3 p.m. weekdays.