1. Archive


Winston Cup

WHAT: TranSouth 400.

WHEN/WHERE: 1 p.m. Sunday, Darlington Raceway, 1.366-mile banked oval in Darlington, S.C.


POLE-SITTER: Dale Jarrett.

1996 CHAMPION: Jeff Gordon.

FAST FACT: Gordon has won the past three races at Darlington Raceway, including both events last season.

Busch Grand National

WHAT: Diamond Hill Plywood 200.

WHEN/WHERE: 1 p.m. today, Darlington Raceway.

TV: 4 p.m., ESPN (taped).

POLE-SITTER: Elliott Sadler.

1996 CHAMPION: Mark Martin.

FAST FACT: Martin has won four of the past nine Grand National races at Darlington and three of the five races run this season. Martin has 29 career Busch Grand National series victories, two short of Jack Ingram's record.


WHAT: Slick 50 Nationals.

WHEN/WHERE: 5 p.m. Sunday, Houston Raceway Park in Baytown, Texas.


1996 CHAMPIONS: Kenny Bernstein (Top Fuel), John Force (Funny Car), Mike Edwards (Pro Stock), John Myers (Pro Stock Motorcycle).

FAST FACT: Six-time Funny Car champ John Force debuted in a Ford Mustang on Friday and topped qualifying. He and Pontiac ended their two-year relationship at Gainesville.

Indy Racing League

WHAT: Phoenix 200.

WHEN/WHERE: 4 p.m. Sunday, Phoenix International Raceway, 1-mile banked oval in Phoenix.

TV: Chs.

28, 40.

1996 CHAMPION: Arie Luyendyk.

FAST FACT: This is the sixth race in league history. Nine drivers have started all six races and Tony Stewart leads with 388 laps led.

_ Idle: Craftsman Trucks, F1, CART.

Darlington Raceway

Built in 1949-50, Darlington Raceway began NASCAR's superspeedway era on Sept. 4, 1950. Since that day, the racing landmark has embodied the passions and frustrations of three generations of competitors, thus become a NASCAR tradition.

TranSouth Financial 400

+ Track length: 1.366 miles

+ Race length: 293 laps, 400 miles

+ Defending champ: Jeff Gordon

+ Race record (400 miles): Dale Earnhardt, 132.432 mph, March 27, 1994

+ Qualifying record: Ward Burton, 173.797 mph., March 22, 1996.