1. Archive

3 athletes, 3 coaches earn all-GCAC winter honors

Three Lecanto athletes and a coach, and two Citrus coaches earned top honors on the recently released All-Gulf Coast Athletic Conference winter teams.

Tanya Jones (girls basketball), Richie Wright (boys soccer), and Nick Carrier (wrestling) were named conference players of the year. Carrier's coach, Cory Collins, was named the co-wrestling coach of the year with Matt Smith of Hernando.

Brady Bogart and Tony Albiero, the Citrus girls and boys soccer coaches respectively, were named coaches of the year.

Jones, a 5-foot-11 senior forward, averaged 12 points in leading Lecanto to a 19-14 record and a second-place finish in the district.

Wright, a senior forward, was the county's leading scorer. A standout receiver on the football team, Wright helped guide the Panthers to the regional final last year and to another district championship this year.

Carrier is the only state champion from Citrus County this year. He captured the 145-pound title at the state wrestling championships last month in St. Petersburg, winning four straight matches and beating Matt Walker of Tampa Jesuit in the final.

Collins, Bogart and Albiero all guided their teams to conference championships. Bogart and Albiero also helped put seven players each on the all-conference team.

The Citrus wrestling team also put seven members on the all-conference team, including state runner-up Ed Yakich.



Central _ Tracy Clarke, Trecia Swanston, Abi Bell, Heather Hamilton; Citrus _ Maura Algeo, Dalila Gordon, Melody Fedor, Molly Keating, Jill Keating, Jodi Lott, Bethany Purdin; Crystal River _ Lanna Hough, Candice Bosworth; Hernando _ Lindsey Copeland, Kristi Mule', Nola Rasper, Kendall Enos, Tina Mena, Tracy Spell; Lecanto _ Ruth Ann Thomashunis, Lisa Troiano, Teresa Kane.

Player of the Year _ Lindsey Copeland, Hernando.

Coach of the Year _ Brady Bogart, Citrus.


Central _ Brandon Lauria, Billy Neilson, Gary Steiner, Scott Puttre; Citrus _ Jorge Camargo, Clint Stokes, Kyle Johnson, Billy Floyd, Ron Pekins, Jarred Albury, Andrei Feldt; Crystal River _ Paul Denigris, Mike Andrews, Andres Sandoval; Hernando _ John David, Ryan Toombs; Lecanto _ Richie Wright, Travis Tatman, Eric Brussell, Robbie Williams, Brian Furniss, Eddie Grant.

Player of the Year _ Richie Wright, Lecanto.

Coach of the Year _ Tony Albiero, Citrus.


Citrus _ Jessica Davila; Crystal River _ B.J. Snow, Amy Embree; Dunnellon _ Michacla Powell; Hernando _ Brittany Bell, Mable Brown, Tinsley Gordon; Lecanto _ Tanya Jones; South Sumter _ Brandi Davis, Tehesha Parsons.

Player of the Year _ Tanya Jones, Lecanto.

Coach of the Year _ Walt Cermak, Hernando.


Central _ Kevin Welch, Doug Ivancsits; Citrus _ Robby Armstrong, Chris Tenner; Crystal River _ Jimmy Grimsley, William Richardson; Hernando _ Jay Pingley, Roy Vasquez; Lecanto _ J.D. Neal, Joey Cox.

Player of the Year _ Kevin Welch, Central.

Coaches of the Year _ Charlie Williams, Hernando and John Sedlack, Central.


Central _ Jason Tarantino, Mike Tousey, Jon Mikail, Mike Mallin, Kenney Van Houten, Jeremy Schuster; Citrus _ Ed Yakich, Mike Tantillo, John Gebbia, David Perry, Gabe Hensley, Adam Rowley, Scott Turner; Crystal River _ Phoung Chau, Brandon Natteal, John Martynowski; Hernando _ Matt Fogle, Richard Gant, Courtney Elms, David Ellis, Keylow King, Kevin Tracy, Jeff Carlsen; Lecanto _ John Gamble, Jason McCumsey, Jon Shoemaker, Nick Carrier, Jason Barber.

Wrestlers of the Year _ Richard Gant, Hernando; Nick Carrier, Lecanto; Mike Mallin, Central.

Coaches of the Year _ Cory Collins, Lecanto, and Matt Smith, Hernando.