1. Archive

Ten are voted to Wooden team

Published Oct. 1, 2005

Jacque Vaughn of Kansas, Ron Mercer of Kentucky and Keith Van Horn of Utah led the John Wooden All-America team announced Wednesday.

Joining them on the 10-player squad were Tim Duncan of Wake Forest, Danny Fortson of Cincinnati, Bobby Jackson of Minnesota, Antawn Jamison of North Carolina, Brevin Knight of Stanford, Raef LaFrentz of Kansas and Charles O'Bannon of UCLA.

The team was selected by 978 sportswriters and broadcasters nationwide in voting conducted by the Los Angeles Athletic Club.

Duncan, LaFrentz, Mercer, Vaughn and Van Horn were the five players with the most points. That makes them candidates for the Wooden Award, given to the national player of the year.

Duncan was named the Player of the Year by the Sporting News. Kansas' Roy Williams was named Coach of the Year and Tim Thomas of Villanova Freshman of the Year.

GEORGIA STATE: Lefty Driesell, 17 victories short of 700, was hired to coach a team that has three winning seasons in its 34 years.

Driesell was fired by James Madison on March 5, a day after he said next season would be his last. The university then decided not to renew Driesell's contract, citing a lack of success on the court and in academics.

SOUTHWEST MISSOURI STATE: While offering no guarantees how long he will stay, coach Steve Alford agreed to a four-year contract that increases his salary, media payments and bonuses.

Alford said he has removed his name from the list of candidates to fill Tennessee's vacancy, but he left open the door for Ohio State, should it call.

RUTGERS: The school offered big bucks and a long-term contract, but Tom Penders said he will remain the coach at Texas. Rutgers' financial package would have paid Penders $700,000 annually over at least seven years.

Bill Herrion, who led Drexel to three NCAA Tournament appearances in the past four years, becomes the Rutgers front-runner.

TENNESSEE: The school waited to see whether Illinois State's Kevin Stallings would take an offer to replace Kevin O'Neill.