1. Archive


TONY LAZARRA, Shorecrest football: The Chargers' do-it-all player did it all again last Friday. As a running back, the senior carried 12 times for 258 yards and two touchdowns against Berkeley Prep. As a kickoff specialist, all of his boots either went into the end zone or were within the 2-yard line. And he punted twice for a 42.5 yard average.

GABE DIGENNARO, Central Clearwater Catholic football: Degennaro, a senior defensive lineman, was a one-man monster against Fort Meade last week, recording 10 solo tackles, two assists, two sacks and one tackle for a loss. He also caused three fumbles, broke up a pass and blocked a punt.

KRISTEN NARDOZZI, St. Petersburg swimming: Nardozzi, a sophomore, was a double-winner for the second straight year at the St. Petersburg swimming meet. She kept her crown in both the 200 individual medley and 100 backstroke.

RYAN SWOFFORD, East Lake football: The senior fullback took some of the rushing load off the Eagles, who didn't have leading rusher Ryan Wilson in the backfield because of an injury. He carried 16 times for 109 yards in East Lake's 31-7 win against Leto.

JEREMY FRIOUD, Tarpon Springs football: The senior lineman was a terror on both sides of the ball in the Spongers' key district win against Land O'Lakes. On defense he recorded a sack and was constantly in the backfield breaking up plays. On offense he took control of every blocking assignment and helped Spongers running back Atif Austin gain 266 yards.

DANE HAIR, Dunedin cross country: The senior turned in a gritty performance at the Hurricane Invitational Wednesday. His time of 16:22 was his third-fastest of the season and it came on a course known for its soft sand. Hair finished second to East Lake's Sean McCabe, but reclaimed _ at least for now _ his spot as Dunedin's top threat.

_ Class of the County honorees are chosen by the Times. Nominations can be made by coaches only during office hours on Monday to Robbi Pickeral (893-8129) or Eric Vician (445-4170). Athletes can only be selected once per season.

PREVIOUS WINNERS: Football _ Atif Austin, Tarpon Springs; David Bossone, Palm Harbor University; Jason Butler, Dunedin; Zach Cushing, Dunedin; Jared Dallman, Countryside; John Erwin, Northside Christian; Kyle Hazelwood, East Lake; Willie Hoston, Seminole; Frank Lang, Dunedin; Chris Larsen, Countryside; Chad Mehle, East Lake; Chris Meyer, Clearwater; Desmon Newton, Largo; Zac Schuck, St. Petersburg Catholic; Spencer Schulz, East Lake; Terrell White, Tarpon Springs; Ryan Wilson, East Lake. Volleyball _ Lindsey Kruis, Keswick Chr., Monique Marier, Clearwater; Abby Miner, Pinellas Park; Brian Riley, CCC; Alex Sevillano, Clearwater; Meg Shames, St. Petersburg Catholic. Cross country _ Erin Giesa, Northside Chr.; Misty Harper, Seminole; Mike Kyne, Seminole; Nate Hansen, St. Petersburg; Sean McCabe, East Lake; Nicole Scott, Lakewood. Swimming _ Randi Edwards, Seminole; John Voege, Countryside; Sara Wooten, CCC. Soccer _ Justin Newton, Keswick.