Our coronavirus coverage is free for the first 24 hours. Find the latest information at Please consider subscribing or donating.

  1. Archive

Inverness arts festival winners announced

The judges of the 27th Annual Festival of the Arts in Inverness last weekend have announced the following winners:

BEST OF SHOW: Tony Crisswell, Calera, Ala., for oil painting New Model.

DIVISION 1/BEST IN DIVISION: Mary Proctor, Tallahassee. Division I is oils, acrylics and mixed media.

AWARDS FOR EXCELLENCE: Bill Darrah, Bradenton; Jaret Lubowiecki, Floral City; and Gregory Jones, Lakeland.

AWARDS OF MERIT: Embeth Nagy, Hernando; Anita Roy, Floral City; Marie Bellamy, Inverness; Diane Becker, Brooksville; Je'Nene Enderle, Palm Harbor; and Linda Blondheim, Gainesville.

DIVISIONS 2 AND 3/BEST IN DIVISION: Chuck Huddleston, Deland. Divisions 2 and 3 cover watercolor, graphics, drawings, painting and photography.

AWARDS FOR EXCELLENCE: Virginia Chen, Gainesville; Anne Weaver, Beverly Hills; and Michele Mesick, Titusville.

AWARDS OF MERIT: Joan Morgan, Cedar Key; Patricia Modzianowski, Philadelphia; and Gordon Spraker, Dunnellon.

DIVISION 4/BEST IN DIVISION: Peter Chu, Jacksonville. Division 4 is three-dimensional fine art.

AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE: Isadora DeLaVega, Englewood; Bonnie Eastwood, Hudson; Robert Stagemayer, Dade City; Art Seigel, Orlando; Lorna Thunderhorse, Lecanto.

AWARDS OF MERIT: Jeanne Van Spyker, Alachua; Alfonso DeLaVega, Englewood; Louise Whitney, Homosassa; Nicario Jimenez, Miami; C.C. Lee, Palm Coast; Alicia Lowe, Inverness; and Bob King, Orange Park.

CRAFTS AWARDS: First place, Andrew and Suzanne Philip, Leesburg. Second place, Dot and Nancy Lehman, Homosassa Springs. Third place, Carol Hope, Lake Oron, Mich.

YOUTH DIVISION, CRAFTS: First place, Daniel Becker, Lecanto. Second place, Kim Hall, Lecanto. Third place, Heather Shaw, Inverness.