1. Archive


Published Sep. 13, 2005


Sandra L. Taylor has been named marketing director at FleischmanGarcia in Tampa. Taylor was a marketing representative at Heery International Inc.


Honey Rand has been named president of Communications Solutions in Tampa. Rand was director of public communications for Southwest Florida Water Management District.


Jason R. Withrow has been named director of design technology at Engineering Concepts Inc. in Largo. Withrow was a mechanical systems engineer at Engineering Matrix in St. Petersburg.


Janine M. Cook has been named assistant vice president and manager of Market Street Mortgage in Tampa. Cook was branch manager at North American Mortgage.

Smith Barney in Tampa has announced the following promotions: James W. Warren III and J. Stephen Wiley have been named senior vice presidents; Jeffrey M. Curchin and S. Jack Horne, first vice presidents; Gary L. Huddleston, Juan F. Manteiga, Barbara Phethean and James P. Valenti, vice presidents; and David Brand and James V. Carideo III, second vice presidents.


Tina Miller has been named an underwriter in the transportation department at Swett Insurance Managers in Clearwater. Miller was commercial transportation underwriter at T.H.E. Insurance Inc. in Treasure Island.


MacFarlane Ferguson & McMullen has announced the following elections to its board of directors: John E. Dinkel III; Carter B. McCain; Stephen H. Reynolds; and Gordon J. Schiff.

Lee Nelson has been named vice president of JurisStaff in St. Petersburg. Nelson was a lawyer at Annis, Mitchell, Cockey, Edwards and Roehn.


Tana Evoy has been promoted to senior strategic planning analyst at Celotex Corp. in Tampa. Evoy was senior financial analyst. She earned a master's in business administration at University of South Florida and a bachelor's at Trinity University in San Antonio, Texas.


Martha A. Clendenin has been selected to create a school of physical therapy at University of South Florida in Tampa. The school will be built as a master's program reporting to the dean of medicine. Clendenin is a professor at Nova Southeastern University. She earned a doctorate in anatomy and a master's in physical therapy at Medical College of Virginia.


Payroll Transfers Inc. in Tampa has announced the following appointments: Thomas Wajnert has been named chairman, president and chief executive officer; Marc Moore, vice chairman; Jana Sappenfeld, executive vice president of operations; Elliot Cooperstone, executive vice president of sales, marketing and business development and planning; Peter Ross, senior vice president of sales and marketing; and Thomas Taylor, senior vice president and chief financial officer.


Tracey Colbert has been named Graduate of the Year by Goodwill-Industries Suncoast. Colbert is an employment specialist at Goodwill's Working Solutions Inc. Mark Nobel, a courtesy clerk at the base exchange at MacDill Air Force Base in Tampa, was named Achiever of the Year.

Peter G. Guptill has been appointed to Florida Commission on Tourism by Gov. Lawton Chiles. Guptill is chief executive officer at Dollar Rent A Car Florida in Tampa.

The law firm of Carlton Fields has announced the following appointments of lawyers in its St. Petersburg office: David R. Punzak, a commercial, corporate and franchise law lawyer, has been named chairman of Suncoast Center for Community Mental Health Inc.; and H. Hamilton "Chip" Rice Jr., an administrative, land use and environmental law lawyer, has been named chairman of the Florida Bar's City, County and Local Government Certification Committee.


William E. Carlson has been promoted to senior vice president at Tucker/Hall in Tampa. Carlson was vice president. He earned a bachelor's in marketing and business administration at University of Tampa.


John Paul Cowan has been named chief nuclear officer at Florida Power Corp. in St. Petersburg. Cowan was vice president of nuclear operations at the company's Crystal River 3 nuclear facility.