1. Archive

Sprints and Street Stocks put on a show

If pure, unadulterated speed is your fancy, then the Citrus County Speedway was the place to be Saturday night. The Tampa Bay Area Racing Association Sprint Cars made the first of two visits and put on quite a show.

Consistently turning laps in the 13.4-second range, Dude Teate and Kip Beard led all 25 laps for a one-two finish in the main event. It was Teate's first feature win of the season. Little 500 inductee Jimmy Childers moved up from fifth for a third-place finish. Larry Tyler, who started 12th, pushed Childers at the line, but had to settle for fourth. Todd Schmitt held out for fifth over Willie Stauffer.

A five-car run for the finish had fans on their feet in the Street Stock feature. After an 11-lap, side-by-side duel with Mike Veltman, Wes Wil son made the pass on Lap 18 and went to victory lane for the second time this season. Brother Sport Wilson finished just ahead of James Cannon and Joe Gill for third.

After a disqualification last week, Mark Gregorski flexed his muscles in the Hobby Stock division, moving from the sixth starting position to first in 10 laps. Gregorski moved past Roy Perkins at the halfway point and held off a hard charge from points leader Virginia Wilson at the line. Perkins held off Allen Jacobson for third.

A 12-car Late Model feature was pared down to nine starters after engine troubles sidelined Billy Bechtelheimer and Forrest Goff in warmups. Mike Waldron finished strong in the second heat, but was unable to take the green in the feature. Trouble also found Rick Carlton, Jason Waldron and Bruce Gaskins, who bowed out after a ninth-lap mishap, and Keith Zavrel's oil leak took him out of the running and left just five cars to finish the race.

Al Lawrence took advantage and added to his points lead with his third win of the year. James "Doc" Batson, Terry Cater, Dale Sanders and Danny Johnson rounded out the top five. Lawrence and Sanders picked up heat wins.

Veltman grabbed a one-point lead in the Limited Sportsman points race after posting his third win of the season. Tom Jones led for 19 laps over the 16-car field, but was unable to catch Veltman. Corky Miley, Victor Stanley and John Chance rounded out the top five, and Miley and Chance won their respective heats.

J.D. Smith went to the point when the green flag flew and held off the charges of George Neumann and Mark Sowell for his first Mini Stock win of the season. Jim Smith chased his dad for a few laps before losing power early, but came back to salvage a fourth-place finish ahead of Steve Griffin.

"Mr. Mazda" matched his 1984 RX7 against Bob Stocker's '79 RX7 in the final two-lap Fan Participation final and picked up the win.

Figure 8s and Bicycle Races for four age groups highlight a full race program Saturday night. Pre-registration and rules for the bicycle races are available at the pit office Wednesday, Thursday and Friday afternoons until 5 p.m.