1. Archive

Johnson survives in Late Models

The 25-lap Late Model feature wasn't pretty from a racing purist's standpoint. However, the result will do fine for Danny Johnson, who survived the mishap-plagued event and a last-lap crash for his first win of the season.

A first-lap incident on the back chute involving four cars ended the night early for Forrest Goff, whose car was destroyed when Billy Bechtelheimer lost it coming off Turn 2. Bechtelheimer was able to make repairs and return for the restart, while George Receveur had to hang it up for the night.

Johnson set the pace on the restart and was chased by Bruce Gaskins and James "Doc" Batson for the next 18 laps when Keith Zavrel's car started leaking oil. Lap 21 saw Zavrel's engine blow and the entire field got into fluid on the track.

Another four-car accident on the back straight shortened the race, and Johnson's Late Model was taken to technical inspection via tow truck after sustaining major damage when he smashed the wall coming out of Turn 3. Johnson passed inspection and earned the win based on his position at the end of Lap 20. Gaskins, Batson, Al Lawrence and Herb Hoefler rounded out the top five. Gaskins and Mike Waldron took heat wins.

Thirteen Figure 8s took the green flag and Robert Aaron set the pace from start to finish in the 20-lap feature for his second win of the year. Victor Stanley plowed through the heavy traffic to take second place, only to lose it on the scales (his car was 30 pounds too light) in tech inspection.

Tim Farris moved back into a tie for the points lead with his second-place finish, sharing that spot with third-place finisher Dwayne Fults. Ron Schreifels and Fred Tuski rounded out the top five, with Tuski dropping to third in the points race.

Tom Jones made his second trip to victory lane in Limited Sportsman action with a flag-to-flag win over Herb Neumann Sr. and David Black. Corkey Miley moved back into the points lead with a fourth-place finish, showing a lot of body damage after being sent to the rear of the field on several occasions for rough driving. Victor Stanley held on for fifth and Neumann Sr. and Allan Struble won the heats.

Frank Coleman and Mark Sowell ran away from the Mini Stock field while a three-way battle for third raged on behind them for the final 10 laps. Kevin Rittenhouse held out for the spot over Jim Smith and George Neumann in the side-by-side finish. Mike Mitrisis and Coleman won the heat races.

The Hobby Stocks provided another crowd-pleasing finish as Roy Perkins held out for his first win of the season over Alex Cleveland in a nose-to-tail finish. Allen Jacobson and Virginia Wilson battled for the final eight laps and Wilson regained the points lead with her fourth-place finish. Jodie Daniels held out for fifth over Chucky Smith. Erica Wilson, who was unable to finish, slipped to second in the points race after brushing the back-stretch wall and puncturing both right tires. Cleveland and J.D. Goff won the heats.

Bicycle races for four age groups introduced many future racers to the speedway from a hands-on point of view. In the 5-8 age group, Ryan O'Neal, 7, of Inverness won the one-lap event over 10 other riders, and Steven Burdette, 12, also of Inverness, took the win in the 9-12 age group. It was James O'Neal, 14, of Floral City on top in the 13-15 age group, and Eric Stocker, 29, won in the 16-over group.