Our coronavirus coverage is free for the first 24 hours. Find the latest information at Please consider subscribing or donating.

  1. Archive

Alstott repeats as AP's first-team All-Pro FB

Mike Alstott is All-Pro all over again.

Thursday, the fullback became the first Buc to be named to the All-Pro first team by the Associated Press in consecutive years. Defensive tackle Warren Sapp and linebacker Derrick Brooks were named to the second team.

"I'm honored with this award for the second straight season," Alstott said. "To be voted All-Pro, you have to have a tremendous offensive line and some solid offensive teammates. Without those guys up front, I couldn't do very much."

Alstott, 25, enjoyed career highs with 846 yards on 215 carries (3.9 average) while leading the Bucs for the third straight season in touchdowns (nine, including eight rushing TDs). He added 152 yards on 22 receptions.

It was a remarkable performance, considering that Alstott battled through a tough off-season in which he missed nearly all of training camp recovering from a sprained hip and surgery to repair a broken wrist.

Known for his toughness, Alstott finished the season playing with a fractured left thumb.

As a rookie in '96, Alstott earned a spot on the NFL All-Pro second team, making him the first Buc to be honored by the AP three straight years.

Alstott will be joined by Brooks, Sapp and center Tony Mayberry in the Pro Bowl Feb. 7 in Hawaii.

AP All-Pro first team


Pos Name, team

WR Randy Moss, Vikings

WR Antonio Freeman, Packers

TE Shannon Sharpe, Broncos

T Tony Boselli, Jaguars

T Larry Allen, Cowboys

G Randall McDaniel, Vikings

G Bruce Matthews, Oilers

C Dermontti Dawson, Steelers

QB Randall Cunningham, Vikings

RB Terrell Davis, Broncos

RB Jamal Anderson, Falcons

FB Mike Alstott, Bucs

PK Gary Anderson, Vikings

KR Jermaine Lewis, Ravens


Pos Name, team

E Reggie White, Packers

E Michael Strahan, Giants

T John Randle, Vikings

T Darrell Russell, Raiders

OLB Chad Brown, Seahawks

OLB Mo Lewis, Jets

ILB Junior Seau, Chargers

ILB Zach Thomas, Dolphins

CB Ty Law, Patriots

CB Deion Sanders, Cowboys

S Rodney Harrison, Chargers

S LeRoy Butler, Packers

P Craig Hentrich, Oilers

NOTE: Bucs on the second team are DT Warren Sapp and LB Derrick Brooks. Second team list, 12C.