1. Archive


Scholarship awards

Oak Hill Hospital Volunteer Association recently awarded 10 scholarships to local graduates. Norine Reedy, chairman of the hospital's volunteer scholarship fund, reported that the following 1999 graduates have been awarded $1,500 each:

Central High School's Christine Diario and Danielle Jean Pepin.

Hernando High School's J'Von Green, Jo Angela Rountree and Darrell Griffey, Jr.

Springstead High School's Tiffany Nicole Barber, Amber Hattabaugh, Eduardo Casiano, Charles Erkens and Teri Jakosiej.

All of the students are pursuing careers in the health care field. This program, which began in 1989, has awarded 66 scholarships to Hernando County graduates.

The Spring Hill Art League recently awarded four scholarships to local high school students. Mathew Jewell, a Central High School graduate, received the Henry Martin Memorial Scholarship award of $1,000. Mathew will attend Tampa Technical Institute and study digital graphics. He is interested in clothing design. Sarah DePalma, a Hernando High School graduate, received the Hal Foster Memorial Scholarship for $1,000. Sarah will attend Flagler College of Fine Arts and would like to be an elementary art teacher. Christine Diorio, a Central High School graduate, received the Hal Foster Memorial Scholarship of $1,000. Christine will attend the University of North Florida and will major in advertising design. Abigail Lee Bell, a Central High School graduate, received the Florence Heins Memorial Scholarship for $1,000. Abigail will attend the University of Central Florida, and her goal is advertising and design.

New officers

The Spring Hill American Legion Post No. 186 and its auxiliary recently elected officers for the 1999-2000 year. The American Legion officers are: commander, George Kennedy; 1st vice commander, Robert Reese; 2nd vice commander, Robert Perkins; finance officer, Wallace Bullock; chaplain, Terry Bowman; sergeant at arms, Richard Morrisey; executive committee, Ray Guzman, Larry McFarlane, Larry Noel and Jerry Rug. The auxiliary officers are: Mary Kelly-Perkins; president; Earlene Young; 1st vice president; Mary Kennedy; 2nd vice president; Janet Bowman, secretary; Nancy Smeltz, treasurer; Dorothy Henderson, chaplain; Audrey Tanguay, historian; Rhoda McKee sergeant at arms; Mary Jordan, Gloria Murray, Javon Hall, Doris Webster and Fran Steeves, executive committee.