Our coronavirus coverage is free for the first 24 hours. Find the latest information at Please consider subscribing or donating.

  1. Archive


CARROLLWOOD ELEMENTARY: Six students will advance to the state competition in Orlando of the National PTA Reflections Program. The program recognizes students in the areas of photography, music, literature and visual arts. Students representing the school include: Dakota Lewis, visual arts; Alex Taman, photography; Mark Parrish, photography, Vincent Leto, music; Robert Parrish, photography; and Michael Rumore, music.

BENITO MIDDLE: Congratulations to Mrs. C.J. Hartland, Benito Teacher of the Month for January.

TEACHER OF THE YEAR AWARD 1999-2000: These instructors were named the Teacher of the Year at area schools: Kathy Downs, Bellamy Elementary; Carmen Diez, Cannella Elementary; Kyla L. Burd, Carrollwood Elementary; Marceline Guenther, Citrus Park Elementary; Sara Suarez, Clark Elementary; Janice Pearce, Claywell Elementary; DianneRossi, Essrig Elementary; John C. Fahle, Forest Hills Elementary; Jamie Buck, Hunter's Green Elementary; Bonnie Copeland, Lake Magdalene Elementary; Kelly Webb Hangen, Lowry Elementary; Lori Branham, Lutz Elementary; Lorraine Powers Skelton, Maniscalco Elementary; Leola Hunsberger, Mort Elementary; Tammy Steele, Northwest Elementary; Erin Sapp, Pizzo Elementary; Patricia Foley, Schwarzkopf Elementary; John M. Paton, Tampa Palms Elementary; Brenda Mahoney, Westchase Elementary; Evelyn C. Morgan, Adams Middle; Gloria Harmon, Benito Middle; Kimberly N. Mieder, Buchanan Middle; Sam Vaglica, Ben Hill Middle; Cathy Wiggins, Pierce Middle; Jennifer Wise, Dorothy Thomas Exceptional Center; Cynthia Cavo, Walker Middle; Beverley Jarrett, Chamberlain High; Steven E. Page, Gaither High; Carolyn Wilcher, Leto High; Robert Pagano, Sickles High; and Terry Sollazzo, Wharton High. Buck, Steele and Sollazzo are among the eight finalists for the countywide award.