Our coronavirus coverage is free for the first 24 hours. Find the latest information at Please consider subscribing or donating.

  1. Archive


VANESSA ADAMS and NATALIE WILKINSON, Clearwater basketball: Adams, a senior, and Wilkinson, a junior, often get cast in the shadows of their teammates. Last week, they both stepped out and helped the Tornadoes win three games, including a 50-37 victory over Sarasota Riverview. Wilkinson scored 10 points in each game and averaged eight assists from the point. Adams averaged nine points and eight rebounds.

SHEILA GOBEL and MEGAN ARMSTRONG, Northside Christian basketball: The duo combined for 56 points and 54 rebounds in the post and helped the Mustangs to three wins in a four-game span last week.

LAWANDA JACKSON, Northeast basketball: The senior had a stellar three-game stretch last week in helping the Vikings to a 2-1 record that included wins over Dunedin and St. Petersburg. She scored 72 points and grabbed 46 rebounds in the three games. Her averages in points (24) and rebounds (15.3) during the stretch were well above her team-best season averages of 18 points and 11 rebounds a game. Her 31 points in a 68-53 loss to Dixie Hollins were a season-high.

WILLIAM JACKSON, St. Petersburg basketball: The senior averaged 32.5 points and 5.0 assists in two games last week.

JUSTIN BARNAKY, Northside Christian basketball: The sophomore made eight three-pointers, a school record, in a victory over Shorecrest on Friday. That gave the sharpshooter 54 three-pointers on the season.

PREVIOUS WINNERS: Girls basketball _ Cali Tahaafe, Seminole; Beth Taylor and Amy Johansen, Indian Rocks Christian; Sara Wallace, Northside Christian; Kristal Klepacki, Keswick Christian; Kelcey Roegiers-Jensen, Boca Ciega; Kristen Oliver, Lakewood; Eirene Koulouvaris and Sarah Black, Countryside; Taniya Wright, Tarpon Springs; Felicia Bass, Indian Rocks Christian; Alison O'Brien, Clearwater. Boys basketball _ Erroyl Bing, Largo. Girls soccer _ Michelle Mione and Jenny Reutschi, Osceola; Laura Sibley, Shorecrest.

Class of the County members are chosen by Times staff writers. Nominations must be made by coaches only to Eric Vician (445-4170) and Pete Young (893-8129) during office hours by Monday. Athletes can only be selected once per season.