1. Archive

Texas artists win Beth-El's top prize

Published Sep. 26, 2005

Marilyn Endres and Eucled Moore of Driftwood, Texas, won the best-of-show award of $1,000 at Art Festival Beth-El held at Temple Beth-El last weekend. The winning work was an intricately patterned wood vase created in a process called segmented turnings.

Selecting award winners was Alexander LeeNyerges, director and chief executive officer of the Dayton (Ohio) Art Institute. He also chose:

Awards of Distinction, $250 each, to Fred Garbotz, Cocoa; Mark Chatterley, Williamston, Mich.; Jeff Margolin, Cambridge, Mass.; Rocky Bridges, Tarpon Springs; Robin Cody, Sarasota; John Littleton and Kate Vogel, Bakersville, N.C.; Gustavo Castillo (last year's best of show), Bristol; Mase Lucas, Scaly Mountain, N.C.

Award of Excellence, $100 each, to James Spiroff, Orlando; Carmen Lagos, Bristol; Paul Eppling, St. Petersburg; Drew and Kirsi Smith, Tampa; Larry Humphrey, Brooksville; Ruthie and Mike Cohen, Arden, N.C.; Karen Reichert, Pittsfield, Pa.; Molly Stone and Michael Cohn, Emeryville, Calif.; Bonnie Seeman, Plantation; Dale Lewis, Calera, Ala.

Best of Gallery II (fine art at moderate prices), $200, to David Bruner, Sarasota; merit awards, $50 each, to Laurie Goddard, Shelburne Falls, Mass.; Michelle Friedman, Chicago; and Alicia Keleman and Beatriz Keleman, Somerville, Mass.

Other winners were Audri Tirabassi, Guinevere Rawlins and Darren Beistel of the Pinellas County Center for the Arts at Gibbs High School. In addition, Florida Craftsmen director Michele Tuegel selected three winners from other Pinellas County High Schools: Emily Loucks, Elise Crosby and Josh Clark.

In lieu of cash gifts, Temple Beth-El makes a $650 scholarship donation to Gibbs and $200 each to Northeast, Largo and Shorecrest high schools, attended by the other students.