1. Archive



Byron C. Smith has become a partner at the accounting firm of Gregory, Sharer & Stuart, St. Petersburg. Smith serves on the boards of the Salvation Army, the Spring of Tampa Bay, the University of South Florida's Planned Giving Committee and the Tampa Hillsborough County Youth Council.


Theresa Lynn Collins was named marketing director of the year by the Sales & Marketing Council of the Builders Association of Greater Tampa. Collins is employed by M/I Homes, Tampa.


Steven M. Clear has been appointed chief information officer for Reptron Electronics Inc., Tampa. Clear previously was first vice president of strategy and architecture for ABN AMRO.


Hyatt Regency Tampa announced the following appointments: Bob Reickoff, room service and City Center Cafe manager; John Shook, assistant controller; Maria Pastrona, convention services manager; Gary Maddox, meeting connections manager; and Tim Kafel, stewarding manager. Reickoff transferred from the Hyatt Regency Hilton Head in South Carolina; Shook worked for the Doubletree Orlando Resort and Conference Center; Pastrona was convention services manager for the Hyatt Regency Greenville in South Carolina; Maddox completed management training at the Hyatt Sarasota; and Kafel was a manager for Shell's Restaurant.


The Independent Insurance Agents of Great Tampa have announced its board of directors: Rick Russo Jr., president; Dwight Wilson, president-elect; Herman Peery, vice president; Alan Cuccinello, treasurer; and Stuart Holloway, past president.


Carlton Fields, Tampa, announced the following appointments: Thomas Barber, Florida Bar Grievance Committee 13 C; and Edward J. Page, vice chairman, Florida Bar Grievance Committee 13 F. Barber, who is an associate, and Page, a shareholder, work at the firm's Tampa location.

Peter King has been appointed president of the board of directors of the Epilepsy Services Foundation Inc. King is an associate at the law firm of Fowler, White, Gillen, Boggs, Villareal and Banker, Tampa.


The Building Owners & Managers Association Greater Tampa Bay elected the following officers and directors: Jay Allison, president; Chris Prather, first vice president; Lynn Vilmar, second vice president; Bob Loida, treasurer; and Rosanne Versaggi, secretary. Allison is vice president and general manager for the Trane Co., Tampa; Prather, a senior property manager at Insignia/ESG, Tampa; Vilmar, property manager for RREEF Management, Tampa; Loida, an account executive for Automated Building Control Systems, Tampa; and Versaggi, publisher for Black's Guide, Tampa.

Harold "Hal" Z. Steinbrenner has been appointed to the Florida State Fair Authority. Steinbrenner is the chairman and chief executive of Steinbrenner Hotel Properties.

Dr. Randy Feldman has been selected 2000-01 state winner of the Blue Chip Enterprise Award given by the Mass Mutual Financial Group and the United States Chamber of Commerce. Feldman is chief executive of Feldman Orthodontics, Tampa.

Dr. John W. Mason has been elected a governor of the College of American Pathologists. Mason is chief of pathology and laboratory medicine services at the VA Medical Center at Bay Pines and is a clinical professor of pathology at the University of South Florida School of Medicine.