1. Archive

Three Pasco students win Dreamers and Doers Awards

The students will be honored at a May lunch in Orlando.

Curiosity, confidence, courage and constancy are the characteristics sought in those competing for Disney's Dreamers and Doers Award, now in its 16th year.

This year's winners from Pasco County _ Myles Carter, a fifth-grader from Fox Hollow Elementary; Justin Postle, a seventh-grader from Pine View Middle, and Justin Losh, a sophomore at Wesley Chapel High _ embody all those characteristics and then some, said Lori Hartwig Yusko, director of communications for Pasco schools.

The three students are known for their positive attitudes, their ability to deal with life's adversities, a sense of wonderment about how things work and a determination to discover how things might just work better.

"It's a really tough job, just narrowing it down to three, it really is," said Yusko, one of those faced with the task of choosing three Pasco County winners from some 28school winners submitted.

The winners will be recognized in May at an awards banquet at Disney's Wide World of Sports Complex in Orlando. Each will receive a medal and certificate, as well as the opportunity to be photographed with Minnie and Mickey Mouse.

School winners of Disney's 2001 Dreamers and Doers: Stephanie Katz: Anclote Elementary, Marzena Chowniak: Calusa Elementary, Joshua Watts: Chasco Elementary, Katharina Beck: Taylor Elementary, Bree Prine: Cotee River Elementary, Courtney Marucco: Denham Oaks Elementary, Marlene and Charlene Ortiz: Gulfside Elementary, Dillon Harris: Locke Elementary, John McArdle: Moon Lake Elementary, Brian Drucker: Northwest Elementary, Kendra Calhoun: Quail Hollow Elementary, Lindsey Degi: Richey Elementary, Kathryn Diaz: Sand Pine Elementary, Cassandra Hill: San Antonio Elementary, Rylan Taylor: Seven Springs Elementary, Steven Obst: Bayonet Point Middle, Brandy Baucknecht: Gulf Middle, Corbin Martin: Seven Springs Middle, Austin Ryder: Gulf High, Christina Morris: Hudson High, Jeremy Barber: Land O'Lakes High, Roger Caroll: Pasco High, Meaghan Blum: Ridgewood High, Emily Meyer: River Ridge High.