Advertisement
  1. Archive

CLASS NOTES

HERNANDO ELEMENTARY SCHOOL REGISTRATION: Hernando Elementary School is requesting parents register their children as soon as possible for the 2001-02 year. Students may be registered between 9 a.m. and 2 p.m. Monday through Thursday. Please bring the student's birth certificate, social security card, certificate of immunization, proof of a current physical examination, and proof of Florida residency.

CRYSTAL RIVER MIDDLE SCHOOL REGISTRATION: Registration for Crystal River Middle School students will be from 2 p.m to 7 p.m Aug. 9. A parent or guardian must accompany any registering student. The process will take about one hour. Parking for registration is in front of the two-story building on Crystal Street or on the south side of the campus accessable from Sixth and Third avenues. For information, call 795-2116.

OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY ASSISTANT PROGRAM TO END: The Central Florida Community College District Board of Trustees recently approved dissolution of the college's Occupational Therapy Assistant program. The program has been in operation since 1995 but student interest and local job placements have been decreasing during the past two years, said Vice President for Instruction Dr. Sharon Cooper. As a result, the college was unable to start a class in January. Other state community colleges that have OTA programs are Daytona Beach, Manatee, Palm Beachand Polk.

WTI PATIENT CARE ASSISTANT CLASS: WTI is now registering for the Patient Care Assistant Class. Classes include Certified Nursing Assistant and Home Health Aide Certifications and will start Aug. 13. The Patient Care Assistant class will meet 8 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. weekdays for approximately 11 weeks. This course will certify students to work in hospitals, home health care, and in long-term care facilities. The total cost of the tuition is approximately $500. Books and supplies are additional. Work force Investment Act funding is available for students who qualify. This course does not require a high school diploma. This program is approved for veteran's training. For information, contact Student Services at (352) 726-2430.

COMMERCIAL VEHICLE DRIVING PROGRAM: Applications can be picked up in Student Services for the Commercial Vehicle Driving Program. Class will meet from 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. weekdays for nine weeks. Students will have six weeks of classroom training, range, city and highway driving. The final three weeks are spent accumulating a minimum of 1,000 miles, with 20 percent of those miles driving at night on a variety of roads and conditions. Class hours will fluctuate during this portion of training. The next class is scheduled to start on Monday. This course will certify students with a class "A" CDL License for a rewarding career as a professional tractor-trailer driver. The total cost of tuition, supplies, books, and lab fees is approximately $1,500. Financial assistance is available through Work force Investment Act for students who qualify. This course does not require a high school diploma but students must be 21 years of age or older. For information, please contact Student Services at (352) 726-2430.

INTRODUCTION TO HOME SCHOOLING SEMINAR: Citrus Christian Home Educators Association will sponsor an "Introduction to Homeschooling" seminar at 6:30 p.m. July 31 in the Community Room at the Central Ridge Library. The steering committee will review the Florida Parent-Teacher Association Guide to Homeschooling and discuss Florida law, methods of homeschooling, homeschooling through high school and support groups followed by a question and answer session. For information, call Angie Rushton, public relations coordinator, at 527-0998.

IPS ORIENTATION: Inverness Primary School will have an orientation from noon to 4 p.m. Aug. 10. IPS uniform patches will be distributed by classroom teachers at that time. The first patch is free and others may be purchased at the school general store. IPS will continue to be a uniform school. Students who have not been registered are asked to do so before Aug. 8. Students may be registered from 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. Mondays through Thursdays. A kindergarten student must have a birth certificate, a State of Florida physical, a State of Florida blue card (shot record) and a social security card. A new student in grades one through five must have a birth certificate, blue card, and a copy of the child's most recent report card stating the child's grade level for the new year.

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE

Advertisement
Advertisement