Our coronavirus coverage is free for the first 24 hours. Find the latest information at Please consider subscribing or donating.

  1. Archive

Leaders pledge a new direction for Spring Hill

New leadership is set to take charge of the Spring Hill Civic Association, promising a radical change in direction and renewed energy for the flagging organization.

Brian Moore, elected Thursday to take over for outgoing president Bill Fagan, pledged Friday to move the organization forward after a decision last year to give up enforcing deed restrictions.

"They've given us a platform to build on," Moore said of his predecessors, before promising "a whole new effort to represent what's on the minds of people."

Moore said the group plans to boost community outreach by holding town meetings to gauge issues and set priorities.

"We also recognize that the community goes beyond the legal boundaries of Spring Hill," he said. "What happens in Spring Hill affects the rest of the county, and what happens in the rest of the county affects Spring Hill."

Plans are under way for a new community center to include an amphitheater, swimming pool and skate park. For the upcoming holiday season, the association is planning a potluck dinner with caroling and music outside, complete with lighted angels hanging from the trees.

Fagan said the group is poised for changes.

"I think it's in a very spiraling up direction," he said. "I think we'll see more players working and more participation."

Of the association's roughly 200 members, Moore said 68 voted in the annual election held Thursday night at the newly renovated community center on Kenlake Avenue.

Besides Moore, other officers elected Thursday are: Ki Hill, first vice president; Karen Kraatz, second vice president; Erin Milam, treasurer; Jim McLaughlin, assistant treasurer; Therese White, recording secretary; and Susan Del Negro, corresponding secretary.

The following people were elected to the group's board of directors: Paul Morales, Dick Keller, Mike Robinson and Gene Wright for two-year terms, and Jean Erickson and Bill Fagan for one-year terms.

Bruce Butler, George Vaporean and Jim Wise hold the remaining seats on the board. Their 2-year terms expire next year.

_ Staff writer Jennifer Farrell covers Spring Hill and can be reached at 848-1432. Send e-mail to