1. Archive

Sertoma Club hands out awards

Ed Day of Clearwater was named Sertoman of the Year recently at the All American Sertoma Club annual awards banquet at Baypoint Restaurant, Seminole.

Day was honored as the man who established the club in Clearwater. Also recognized for outstanding dedication and service was past president Lou Kerras.

Don Olson was presented the club's annual Service to Mankind Award. For information on the All American Sertoma Club, contact Charles M. Fazio at 593-8322.

Sutherland Masonic Lodge 174

Steven David Sollenberger of East Lake was recently raised to the degree of Master Mason at Sutherland Masonic Lodge 174 F&AM, Palm Harbor. Woodrow Grimes of Kettering, Ohio, Stollenberger's grandfather, conducted the ceremony and other participants included: Tim Bryce, Alan Leverock, Ken James II, Frank Sloan, Walter Mazelis, Louis Thomas, Jack Bostrom, John Grasso, Warren Bundy, Ken James Sr., Mike Beijar, Ed Wilkinson, Don Harriott, Romeo Scerbo, Jim Tuller, Dick Whalen and Mike Wheeler.

The guest lecture was delivered by Jim Rocha of Tampa Bay Masonic Lodge 252, Safety Harbor, and the charge was delivered by Ken James Sr.

In a separate program, Kenneth Allen Warner was initiated as an Entered Apprentice Mason. Warner is a paramedic at American Medical Response in Largo. He lives in Palm Harbor.

The degree team for the evening included: Mazelis, Leverock, Sloan, Grasso, Bryce, Thomas, Bostrom, Pelicos, Bundy, James Sr., Wilkinson and Jarvis Wood. The lecture was delivered by Bill Petrey of Pearl of the West Lodge No. 146 in New Port Richey, and the charge was delivered by Bryce.

Dunedin, Sutherland Masonic lodges

Dunedin Masonic Lodge 192 and Sutherland Masonic Lodge 174, Palm Harbor, recently staged their second annual Grand Master's Charity Softball Game.

The final score was Sutherland 22 and Dunedin 9 in the game which was played by standard ASA rules, but the real winner is the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation, which will receive the $200 proceeds collected.

Umpires were Kenny Kwapil and Sal Bonosaro. Scorekeeper was Dick Sweeny, and the following players participated:

Dunedin Lodge: Shannon McIntosh, Bernie LaFleur, James Tuller, Ronnie Lough, Mike McIntosh, Jim Mason, Rob Barbee, Daniel Hendrickson, Chris Schlenker and Calvin Walker.

Sutherland Lodge: Tim Bryce, John Tyrkala, Steve Branham, Garry Sullivan, Tom Collias, John Hanson, Dave Kelly, Ken Warner, Gary Cannaday, Gary Linder, and John Sgroe.

Alan Leverock, chaplain of Sutherland Lodge, gave the benediction and presented the winner's trophy. A cookout was provided for the players, family and friends with Steve Pelicos of Sutherland Lodge as chef.

_ To submit an item to Club News, write to Betsy Bolger-Paulet, 710 Court St., Clearwater FL 33756.