Punch cards still rule in local polling today

Published Mar. 5, 2002|Updated Sep. 2, 2005

Residents of six Pinellas County communities go to the polls today to choose local officials.

And the Supervisor of Elections Office offers this advice: Check your chad.

Voters will make their decisions with the traditional punch card ballots instead of the county's new touch-screen machines. Only voters in Clearwater will use the new machines when they visit the polls next week. The rest of Pinellas will try them in the September primary.

In Gulfport, voters will choose a replacement for Ward 3 Council member Lynne Brown, who is not running for re-election. Newcomers Iris Manley and Harry Brodhead are vying for the two-year seat.

In South Pasadena, three candidates are running for a three-year seat, and two people are running for a one-year term for a seat vacated by resigning Commissioner Dick Holmes.

The candidates for the three-year term are incumbent Chris Burgess and residents Diane Sheldon and Robert Small. Joe Catalfamo and Carol Clark are vying for the one-year term.

Voters in South Pasadena also will decide on four referendum questions.

In Treasure Island, District 4 City Commissioner Barbara Blush and District 2 City Commissioner Irving S. "Butch" Ellsworth Jr. are trying to retain their seats. Ellsworth's opponent is John D. Hadsall. Blush is competing against Donald V. Callahan.

Voters in Seminole will go the polls to elect three of five candidates to the City Council. Those seeking office are incumbents Carol Hajek and Bob Matthews and newcomers John Counts, Ed Dobyns and Janet Long. The three candidates who receive the most votes win the seats.

Three candidates in Pinellas Park are running for their first public office. Sandra Bradbury, Ralph Marlow and Alan Swartz are vying for Seat 2 on the City Council. If necessary, a runoff will be March 26.

In Largo, Charles Graul is running against incumbent Pat Burke for Seat 1. Charlie Harper is challenging incumbent Mary Laurance for Seat 2. Winners serve a three-year term.

The polls are open from 7 a.m. and 7 p.m.