1. Archive

BCS chores over for commissioner

ACC commissioner John Swofford confessed he's relieved to no longer be coordinating the Bowl Championship Series standings.

Aside from the time commitment, his two-year stewardship was marked by controversy involving the No. 2 teams in the finale _ Florida State in 2000 and Nebraska last season. Both years, the Associated Press and coaches polls agreed on a different No. 2 team, Miami and Oregon, respectively.

That sparked talk that the BCS needed a selection committee akin to what the NCAA men's basketball tournament has to choose and seed its postseason teams. The committee could use the complicated BCS formula as a tool much in the way the men's basketball committee uses the RPI.

"It was seriously considered," Swofford said. "But it would be so difficult to have people who didn't have some connection to one of the conferences."

Even the appearance of impropriety would be a death knell.

"If you put some guy in there who makes the final decision and I find out he went to Penn State and he picks them instead of us ," Florida State coach Bobby Bowden said.

You can bet he would utter more than a few dadgummits.

Bowden said he would like to see the BCS require that a team win its league to play in the championship game. That would have eliminated Nebraska last year. Swofford said that too was discussed, but with so many leagues not playing a true round-robin, the BCS decided not to make that change.

FSU RECRUITING UPDATE: The Seminoles landed one of the nation's top classes in February, but the ranking would drop now. Five players _ receiver Dishon Platt, tight end Lonnie Davis, defensive linemen Chris Anderson, Chris Bradwell and Chris Turner _ did not qualify academically. All are likely to go to junior college or a prep school. A sixth signee, receiver Chauncey Stovall, has not finished junior college and his status is up in the air. Meanwhile, St. Petersburg Catholic receiver Chris Davis tore an anterior cruciate ligament and will be out for the year.




Bill Armstrong Wake Forest 1973-76

Tiki Barber Virginia 1993-96

Dre' Bly North Carolina 1996-98

Joe Bostic Clemson 1975-78

Peter Boulware Florida State 1994-96

Derrick Brooks Florida State 1991-94

Ted Brown N.C. State 1975-78

Kelvin Bryant North Carolina 1979-82

Jerry Butler Clemson 1975-78

Dennis Byrd N.C. State 1965-67

Dick Christy N.C. State 1955-57

Marco Coleman Georgia Tech 1989-91

Bennie Cunningham Clemson 1973-75

Jeff Davis Clemson 1978-81

Jim Dombrowski Virginia 1981-85

Warrick Dunn Florida State 1993-96

Boomer Esiason Maryland 1981-83

Steve Fuller Clemson 1975-78

William Fuller North Carolina 1980-83

Roman Gabriel N.C. State 1959-61

Joe Hamilton Georgia Tech 1996-99

Alex Hawkins South Carolina 1956-58

Clarkston Hines Duke 1986-89

Torry Holt N.C. State 1995-98

Sebastian Janikowski Florida State 1997-99

Marvin Jones Florida State 1990-92

Stan Jones Maryland 1951-53

Terry Kinard Clemson 1978-82

Amos Lawrence North Carolina 1977-80

Bob Matheson Duke 1964-66

Don McCauley North Carolina 1968-70

Mike McGee Duke 1957-59

Herman Moore Virginia 1987-90

Bob Pellegrini Maryland 1953-55

Julius Peppers North Carolina 1999-2001

Michael Dean Perry Clemson 1984-87

William Perry Clemson 1981-84

Brian Piccolo Wake Forest 1962-64

Frank Quayle Virginia 1966-68

Jim Ritcher N.C. State 1976-79

Anthony Simmons Clemson 1995-97

Chris Slade Virginia 1989-92

Norm Snead Wake Forest 1958-60

Ken Swilling Georgia Tech 1988-91

Lawrence Taylor North Carolina 1977-80

Mike Voight North Carolina 1973-76

Charlie Ward Florida State 1990-93

Peter Warrick Florida State 1996-99

Chris Weinke Florida State 1997-2000

Randy White Maryland 1972-74