1. Archive

Springsteen headlines MTV video awards

Published Sep. 3, 2005

Rappers Eminem and Missy "Misdemeanor" Elliott and the rock band P.O.D. lead the nominees for this year's MTV Video Music Awards with six each, the cable channel announced.

The usually freewheeling event, to be held Aug. 29, will take on a momentary seriousness when producers stop to remember the Sept. 11 terrorist attacks in New York.

Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band will headline the show and likely set the tone for how the event notes the attacks.

"I think (Springsteen's) performance will be a poignant moment," MTV president Van Toffler said. "It feels as though his time is now in terms of what the country needs. He finds the beauty in the everyday working man, and we'd be remiss if we missed out on that."

In the past, the show aired the first week of September. But to avoid the anniversary of the attacks, the show was moved up to late August.

Eminem's comic book-style clip for Without Me, in which he dresses up as a version of Batman's sidekick, Robin, received nominations including video of the year, best male video and best rap video.

Elliott's One Minute Man, which takes place in a hotel and features rappers Ludacris and Trina, is up for best hip-hop video. It also was nominated in several technical categories, including best direction, editing and special effects.

Alive by P.O.D., which features an elaborate highway crash, was nominated in categories including video of the year and best group video. The band's other hit, Youth of the Nation, was nominated for best rock video.

Also drawing multiple nominations was Shakira's Whenever, Wherever. The Colombian singer was recognized in four categories, including best female video, best dance video and best pop video.

The garage band the White Stripes has four nominations for Fell in Love With a Girl. The clip, done in Lego animation, is up for video of the year, breakthrough video, editing and special effects.

Besides Without Me and Alive, the other nominees for video of the year were Gone by 'N Sync; In the End by Linkin Park; and One Mic by Nas.

Jimmy Fallon of Saturday Night Live will be the host of the ceremony, at Radio City Music Hall.

Information from the Associated Press and the New York Daily News was used in this report