1. Archive

Winston Cup

WHAT: Pennsylvania 500.

WHEN/WHERE/TV: Today, qualifying (3 p.m., TNT); Sunday, race (1 p.m., TNT); Long Pond.

2001 WINNER: Bobby Labonte.

FAST FACTS: Dale Jarrett recorded his first victory in almost 11 months June 9 at the Pocono 500. Jarrett took the lead from Jeff Burton on Lap 179 and held on for his first victory since last July in New Hampshire, a span of 30 races. Johnny Benson is expected to return this weekend after missing the past two weeks with broken ribs sustained July 6 during the Pepsi 400. Geoffrey Bodine will be driving in place of brother Todd. Todd is committed to driving in the Busch race at Pikes Peak. Labonte finished second in 1997 and 1999 and third in 1998. Rusty Wallace set the track record for fastest winning speed at 144.892 mph in 1996. Jeff Gordon is the last driver to win consecutive Pennsylvania 500s in 1996 and 1997. Gordon has a careerlong winless streak of 27 races dating to a September victory in Kansas.

POINTS STANDINGS: 1. Sterling Marlin, 2,604; 2. Mark Martin, 2,549; 3. Jimmie Johnson, 2,512; 4. Rusty Wallace, 2,477; 5. Gordon, 2,464; 6. Ricky Rudd, 2,386; 7. Tony Stewart, 2,377; 8. Kurt Busch, 2,365; 9. Matt Kenseth, 2,293; 10. Bill Elliott, 2,291.

Busch Grand National

WHAT: NetZero 250.

WHEN/WHERE/TV: Today, qualifying, 5 p.m.; Saturday, race (3:30 p.m., Ch. 8); Fountain, Colo.

2001 WINNER: Jeff Purvis.

FAST FACTS: Brothers Jeff and David Green took the top two spots in the 2000 race. Jeff beat his older brother by less than a second after battling fender to fender for the last 85 laps. In four starts in Fountain, Jack Sprague has finished in the top five three times, including third last year. Sprague recorded his 12th top-10 finish of the season last weekend. Part-time Busch driver Andy Kirby, 40, was killed July 18 in a motorcycle crash near his home in Tennessee. He had made 12 Busch starts this season, including a sixth-place finish in April at Talladega.

POINTS STANDINGS: 1. Greg Biffle, 2,859; 2. Jason Keller, 2,787; 3. Sprague, 2,694; 4. Scott Riggs, 2,554; 5. Bobby Hamilton Jr., 2,484; 6. Scott Wimmer, 2,482; 7. Mike McLaughlin, 2,466; 8. Randy Lajoie, 2,450; 9. Kenny Wallace, 2,427; 10. Jamie McMurray, 2,390.

Craftsman Trucks

WHAT: Michigan 200.

WHEN/WHERE/TV: Today, qualifying, 3 p.m.; Saturday, race (1 p.m., ESPN); Brooklyn, Mich.

FAST FACTS: The last truck race at Michigan was held in 2000, when Greg Biffle won his second straight Michigan 200. At the time of Biffle's victory, he and teammate Kurt Busch had combined for seven victories in nine races. Jason Leffler has five poles in the past six races and eight top-10 finishes this season. Michigan held its inaugural truck race in 1999. Of the two races, Dennis Setzer has had the most success, finishing eighth in 1999 and fifth a year later. Terry Cook's finishes of 13th and ninth are second-best. Phil Bonifield has completed just 13 of a possible 200 laps in Michigan, leaving the 1999 event after 10 laps because of a vibration and departing after three the next year with brake trouble.

POINTS STANDINGS: 1. Ted Musgrave, 1,836; 2. Mike Bliss, 1,801; 3. David Starr, 1,772; 4. Rick Crawford, 1,739; 5. Cook, 1,734; 6. Setzer, 1,721; 7. Leffler, 1,705; 8. Robert Pressley, 1,681; 9. Travis Kvapil, 1,583; 10. Coy Gibbs, 1,578.


WHAT: Molson Indy.

WHEN/WHERE/TV: Today, qualifying (5 p.m., Speed Channel); Saturday, qualifying (4:30 p.m., Speed Channel); Sunday, race (4:30 p.m., Speed Channel); Vancouver.

2001 WINNER: Roberto Moreno.

FAST FACTS: This is the 13th year of the race but just the fourth with this track setup. Paul Tracy became the first Canadian to win in Vancouver in 2000. No driver has led every lap of the race. Al Unser Jr. won four of the first six CART races in Vancouver with Michael Andretti taking the other two in 1991 and 1992. Juan Pablo Montoya won from the pole in 1999. Mauricio Gugelmin earned his only CART victory at the 1997 race. Gil De Ferran took over first place in the standings last year in Vancouver and held on to repeat as CART champion.

POINTS STANDINGS: 1. Cristiano da Matta, 120; 2. Bruno Junqueira, 70; 3. Dario Franchitti, 64; 4. Patrick Carpentier and Michel Jourdain Jr., 62; 6. Kenny Brack, 60; 7. Christian Fittipaldi, 58; 8. Michael Andretti, Alex Tagliani and Scott Dixon, 52.

Formula One

WHAT: German Grand Prix.

WHEN/WHERE/TV: Saturday, qualifying (7 a.m., Speed Channel); Sunday, race (7:30 a.m., Speed Channel); Hockenheim.

2001 WINNER: Ralf Schumacher.

FAST FACTS: Michael Schumacher is the first to clinch the title as early as July and with six races left. He also set a record of 16 consecutive points finishes, one better than Carlos Reutemann. The track has been renovated since last year's race. The length of the course was reduced from 4.239 miles to 2.842, and the famous forest section was removed. Juan Pablo Montoya has started on the pole for each of the past five races. He finished second last week. Only 19 cars started last week's race, with 10 finishing. Jaguar drivers Eddie Irvine and Pedro de la Rosa did not finish the race last year.

POINTS STANDINGS: 1. x M. Schumacher, 96; 2. Montoya, 34; 3. Rubens Barrichello and R. Schumacher, 32; 5. David Coulthard, 30; 6. Kimi Raikkonen, 17; 7. Jenson Button, 11; 8. Nick Heidfeld and Giancarlo Fisichella, 6; 10. Jarno Trulli and Felipe Massa, 4.

x Clinched title


WHAT: Michigan Indy 400.

WHEN/WHERE/TV: Saturday, qualifying, 11 a.m.; Sunday, race (3 p.m., Ch. 28); Brooklyn, Mich.

FAST FACTS: Al Unser Jr. has logged 8,128 miles in 22 open-wheel races at Michigan but has just one victory. His victory in 1990 with an average speed of 189.727 mph is the world record for fastest 500-mile race. Of the IRL champions, only last year's winner, Sam Hornish Jr., and 1996 co-champion Buzz Calkins have not raced at Michigan. Michigan Speedway has held an open-wheel race every year since 1968.

POINTS STANDINGS: 1. Gil de Ferran, 347; 2. Helio Castroneves, 337; 3. Hornish, 333; 4. Felipe Giaffone, 295; 5. Alex Barron, 243; 6. Airton Dare, 239; 7. Jeff Ward, 218; 8. Scott Sharp, 208; 9. Unser, 207; 10. Eddie Cheever Jr., 179.


WHAT: Northwest Nationals.

WHEN/WHERE/TV: Today, qualifying, 6:30 p.m.; Saturday, qualifying (8 p.m., ESPN, taped); Sunday, eliminations (5 p.m., ESPN, taped); Kent, Wash.

2001 WINNERS: Gary Scelzi (Top Fuel), Whit Bazemore (Funny Car), Mark Osborne (Pro Stock).

FAST FACTS: Seattle International Raceway joined the NHRA in 1975 but went off the schedule for eight years. It returned in 1988. In the past 14 years, the Pro Stock driver who has left the event with the points lead has gone on to win the championship. Cory McClenathan recorded his 300th round victory last weekend by beating John Smith. Kenny Bernstein evened his record against women at 18 after his first-round victory over Rhonda Hartman-Smith last weekend.

POINTS STANDINGS: (Top Fuel) 1. Larry Dixon, 1,186; 2. Bernstein, 1,067; 3. McClenathan, 834; 4. Tony Schumacher, 814; 5. Darrell Russell, 735. (Funny Car) 1. John Force, 934; 2. Gary Densham, 873; 3. Del Worsham, 822; 4. Tony Pedregon, 816; 5. Whit Bazemore, 730. (Pro Stock) 1. Jim Yates, 832; 2. Warren Johnson, 785; 3. Greg Anderson, 772; 4. Jeg Coughlin, 683; 5. Darrell Alderman, 670. (Pro Stock Motorcycle) 1. Angelle Savoie, 801; 2. Craig Treble, 680; 3. Antron Brown, 620; 4. Matt Hines, 593; 5. Shawn Gann, 546.


Race facts

Track length: 2.5-mile tri-oval.

Race length: 200 laps, 500 miles.

Defending champ: Bobby Labonte.

Race record: Rusty Wallace, 144.892 mph, July 21, 1996.

Qualifying record: Tony Stewart, 172.391 mph, July 21, 2000.

Banking turn 1 14 degrees

2 8 degrees

3 6 degrees