Our coronavirus coverage is free for the first 24 hours. Find the latest information at Please consider subscribing or donating.

  1. Archive

Deadline past, primary lists take shape

The lineup is set.

Candidates seeking state or local office had until noon Friday to file their final paperwork and pay their qualifying fees. (Some candidates didn't pay at all; they gathered the requisite number of voter signatures on petitions instead.)

Now that the deadline has passed, the public knows what names it will see on the Sept. 10 primary ballot.

Here's a rundown of the races with local ties.

SCHOOL BOARD: All registered voters are eligible to vote in the two School Board races. Those races are nonpartisan.

In District 1, either Don Bates or Louis Miele will take the seat, which incumbent Carol Snyder decided not to seek again.

In District 3, incumbent Pat Deutschman, seeking her second four-year term, will face challenger Mark Wilson.

In District 5, incumbent Sandra "Sam" Himmel drew no opposition and automatically was re-elected.

This marks the second time Himmel has won re-election without opposition. She first joined the School Board in 1996, when she was elected to complete the unexpired term of Janet Herndon.

"It's official, and I'm excited," Himmel said. "Maybe people think I do a good job and I'm accessible. Or maybe they just don't want the job."

COUNTY COMMISSION: There will be no primary in the District 2 race. Commissioner Gary Bartell, a Republican seeking a fourth term, will face Democrat Phillip Mulrain, a semiretired Lecanto resident, in the Nov. 5 general election.

Neither man drew opposition in his party.

That wasn't the case in the District 4 race. Republican voters will have a primary because incumbent Jim Fowler, a Republican, drew two GOP challengers: Heatherwood activist Joyce Valentino and Inverness business owner John Thrumston.

There will be no runoff primary this year, so the top vote-getter Sept. 10 will advance to the Nov. 5 general election, where he or she will face independent candidate Scott Adams, a Hernando stucco contractor.

There is no Democratic candidate in the race.

STATE REPRESENTATIVE: The District 43 seat is up for grabs because incumbent Nancy Argenziano has decided to seek a state Senate seat.

Registered Democrats will choose either Jimmy Carr or Alex Ilnyckyj to be their party's candidate in November.

Republicans running for the GOP nomination are former Sheriff Charles Dean, Nancy Dunwoodie and Michael "Joey" White. Again, with no runoff primary, the top vote-getter will receive the nomination.

District 43 includes all of Citrus and part of Levy and Hernando counties.

Because of an unusual event in Tallahassee, it's possible that more candidates could enter this race.

Gov. Jeb Bush set a new deadline, 5 p.m. today , for state candidates affected by the crash of a FedEx cargo jet at Tallahassee Regional Airport.

The extension applies only to candidates who could demonstrate that the delivery of their documents was affected by the crash or that they were planning to deliver the documents in person and couldn't because the airport was closed.

CONGRESS: State Sen. Ginny Brown-Waite, a Republican from Brooksville, will face Black Diamond resident Don Gessner in the GOP primary. The winner will take on incumbent U.S Rep. Karen Thurman, D-Dunnellon, in November. Also on the November ballot: independent candidates Jack Gargan and Brian Moore and David Werder, a write-in candidate.

The congressional district includes Citrus and Hernando counties and part of Pasco County, among other areas.

CIRCUIT JUDGE: Judge Carven Angel in Ocala has drawn opposition from lawyer Michael Takac.

The judge holding that seat sits in Marion County but has jurisdiction throughout the 5th Judicial Circuit, which is composed of Citrus, Hernando, Marion, Lake and Sumter counties.

Voters throughout the circuit vote in elections for circuit judge.

School Board member Himmel wasn't the only incumbent to be unopposed and thus win automatic re-election.

Circuit Judges Ric Howard, Barbara Gurrola and Curtis Neal, who handle Citrus cases full time or part time, also won by having no competitors.

So did Circuit Judges Richard Tombrink Jr., Mark Hill, Jack Singbush, Don Briggs, Jack Springstead, Richard Singletary, Sandra Edwards-Stephens, T. Michael Johnson and Brian Lambert.

MOSQUITO CONTROL BOARD: Elections for the Mosquito Control Board will be held Nov. 5. The board has three seats, and several candidates qualified for each race.

Seat 1: Brenda Buzby, Thomas Corkery and Michael Harris.

Seat 2: Greg Biance, Henry Hemrick, Gerald Kelley, Gary Lee Meiman and Stephen Pochis.

Seat 3: Keith Anderson, Jim Crosley, Albert Jordan, Bill Murray and Winston Perry.