1. Archive

Charlie Crist appoints transition team

Published Sep. 4, 2005

Attorney General-elect Charlie Crist has appointed a transition team that includes Pasco-Pinellas State Attorney Bernie McCabe and former U.S. Attorney Roberto Martinez of Miami.

Martinez directed the transition team for Gov. Jeb Bush four years ago and is the current chairman of the Federal Judicial Nominating Commission for Florida.

Others named to the team that will help Crist review the operations of the office, its budget, structure and personnel include Dr. A.K. Desai of St. Petersburg; John R. Jaeb, president of Quest Capital Corp. in Tampa; Julia L. Johnson, president of NetCommunications and a former member of the Florida Public Service Commission; Rhea Law, president of the Fowler White law firm in Tampa; Secretary of State Jim Smith; Chris T. Sullivan, founder of Outback Steakhouse Inc. of Tampa; and Pasco County Sheriff Bob White.

Others are J. Emory Wood, a St. Petersburg lawyer; Garrett Walton, a Pensacola lawyer; Paul A. Sharff, a Bradenton businessman; John D. Rood, chairman of Vestcor Cos. in Jacksonville; Darryl Rouson, a St. Petersburg lawyer who heads the local NAACP; C. Richard Newsome, an Orlando lawyer; George S. LeMieux, a Fort Lauderdale lawyer; and Rep. Jeffrey D. Kottkamp, a lawyer in Fort Myers.

Crist said transition coordinators will work closely with Attorney General Richard Doran, who was appointed to fill the unexpired term of Attorney General Bob Butterworth earlier this month. Butterworth resigned to seek a state Senate seat but lost to Rep. Jeffrey Atwater, R-North Palm Beach.

Crist, the current education commissioner, becomes attorney general on Jan. 7.