1. Archive

Two students awarded $500 scholarships

(ran PW, PS editions)

Jenna Lowe and Eric Reiber are the recipients of $500 scholarships each presented recently by the Civil Service Employee Association (CSEA) Local 950, New York State Retirees.

Jenna Lowe of Ridgewood High School will attend Pasco-Hernando Community College in the dentistry field. She is the daughter of Diane Lowe of Port Richey. Her application for the scholarship was sponsored by her grandmother, Katharine Wiskow of Port Richey.

Eric Reiber of Great Mills (Md.) High School plans to attend Virginia Technical University in Blacksburg, Va., and study engineering. His scholarship application was entered by his grandmother, Clara Reiber, and her husband, George, of New Port Richey. Eric is the son of Capt. Carol and Nancy Reiber of Great Mills.

Resident places third in new song contest

NEW PORT RICHEY _ Mike Jurgensen of New Port Richey was named a third-place winner in the recent Will McLean Best New Song Contest.

The top three winning songs were performed at the 14th annual Will McLean Festival at the Sertoma Ranch in Pasco County.

Hospice volunteers honored at luncheon

NEW PORT RICHEY _ Dedicated Hernando Pasco Hospice volunteers who donate time to the North Pasco Team office were honored recently at a luncheon at the Spartan Manor Restaurant.

Jay and Mary Cawley both received the highest award in the Outstanding Volunteer category. She was commended for her dedication in service support, and Cawley, a board member, was thanked for his commitment to patient care. Another husband and wife team, Dianne and Don Thibault, both received Outstanding Volunteer Awards for exemplary contributions. Both couples live in Hudson.

Mary Alice Day and Joan Pratt received special recognition for reaching the 3,000-hour mark as volunteers and Sandra Schlaver received the same award for 1,000 hours. Special Service Awards were given to the Meadow Oaks Community Crafters, St. Martins Episcopal Church Women and Midge Novtony.

Awards for 250 volunteer hours served last year were presented to Joyce Buckingham, Lois Cleland, Alan and Rosemary Dommermuth, Martha Donaldson, Kathleen Galt, Norma Harvey, Jean Ott, Bernard Querbach, Lorraine Robets, Sandra Schlaver, Eleanor Schwartz, Therese Smith and Dianne and Donald Thibault.

For information, call 863-9522.

Winners announced in wood carvers show

NEW PORT RICHEY _ Top People's Choice winners in the recent 22nd annual Calusa Wood Carvers Show have been announced.

Rawie Haas won best of show for a carving of "Indian on Horse" and a first in the advanced category. Other first place winners are Don Christiansen in Novice, Madeleine Cafarella in Intermediate and Bob Boxley in Open.

Members who won first place in the 2003 Florida State Fair in Tampa are Don Baker, Robert Boxley Sr.; Joyce Breckenridge; Perry Courtney; Rawie Haas; Guenter Hieke, Robert Jahrling, Edward McCarthy, Ross Oar, Charlotte Pierce and Anthony Spina.

Eagle Scouts from Twin Rivers District honored

HUDSON _ Eagle Scouts from the Twin Rivers District were honored recently.

They are Matthew J. Sutton of Troop 7 sponsored by St. Thomas Aquinas Catholic Church; Joshua-Robert S. Crabtree of Troop 8, sponsored by the Kiwanis of Holiday; Joseph J. Folcarelli, Gregory S. Manning and Austin F. Ryder III of Troop 24 sponsored by American Legion Paradise Post 79; Thomas J. Quinn Jr. of Troop 46 sponsored by the First United Methodist Church of New Port Richey.

Also honored were James R. Rodman of Troop 65 sponsored by First Presbyterian Church; Michael S. Clark and Ryan E. Larson of Troop 79 sponsored by Parkwood Acres Civic Association; Benjamin M. Kimmel of Troop 91 sponsored by Shady Hills United Methodist Church; Seamus P. Bradley, Nicholas M. Loweth, Timothy L. Morris and Timothy M. Tracy of Troop 180 sponsored by Asbury United Methodist Church.

Six West Central Florida Council Scout leaders earned the Silver Beaver, the highest award a council can award a volunteer. Recipient of the Silver Beaver Award from the Twin Rivers district is Stefanie Schatzman.

Aripeka Elks clear 2-mile stretch of U.S. 19

HUDSON _ The Aripeka Elks Lodge 2520 under the leadership of Bill Borrusch, chairman of the Adopt A Road Program with 14 volunteers, cleared a 2-mile area of U.S. 19 collecting 22 bags of rubbish weighing 220 pounds.

In conjunction with the American Cancer Society's "Relay for Life," Vince Pepe, Ernie Graf and Harry Doolitle volunteered. They served a pancake and sausage breakfast to 200 at the fundraiser at West Central High School in Brooksville.

Charles Fisher, Nick and Faye Urick prepared and served a pancake and sausage breakfast to 92 participating in the event at Hernando High School.

The Aripeka Elks Lodge 2520 of Hudson, with assistance of Elks National Foundation, will send 16 children to the Florida Elks Youth Camp in Umatilla this summer. The Ladies of Aripeka Elks 2520 support the efforts of the lodge not only as volunteers but also with monetary donations.

A donation of $200 each was made recently to St. Vincent de Paul, Lighthouse of the Blind, Salvation Army, American Cancer Society, Dawn Center, Day Star, Veterans of Pasco and Hernando Counties, Spouse Abuse and $500 each to Florida Elks Youth Camp and Florida Elks Therapy Service, and $300 to the Holy Ground, a homeless shelter.